View Poll Results: Do you use Magic Jack or Magic Jack Plus

Voters
17. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    6 35.29%
  • No

    8 47.06%
  • I might some day

    2 11.76%
  • I use another VOIP service

    1 5.88%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 30
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 205 Times in 163 Posts

    Cool New: Magic Jack Plus

    Yes, I have just bought and installed a 'Magic Jack Plus' VOIP, to replace my local phone service.

    It will be with GLEE that I call my phone company tomorrow morning and tell them where they can stick their ever more expensive phone service.

    So far, Magic Jack is meeting or exceeding all my expectations. It has several features that would cost me over $10 a month to get from my local phone company. My phone bill would normally be $383.40 per year and my Magic Jack Plus cost me only $69.95 and it comes with one year of free phone service, long distance, directory service, call answering and caller ID included.

    So I'm really happy with it and I'm just wondering how others have found it. ???

    Unlike the original Magic Jack, the new 'Magic Jack Plus' only needs to be plugged into a PC for the initial registration. From then on it can be connected direct to your Router, so it will continue to work even after the computer is turned off.

    It automatically will answer a call if it's not picked up by ring five. I want my home answering machine to get the calls so I set my machine to pick up on the 4th ring. That takes care of that.

    The only small drawback, and it really is SMALL, is that when I dial a local number I have to include the three digit area code. A small price to pay for such convenience and savings.

    So what say ye all ?

    The Doctor
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    Yes Dr. What, I have been using the regular Magic Jack for a few years and like it...

    Not long ago I renewed it for a year but when this year is up I plan to get the Plus version because with that I don't have to leave my computer on...
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts
    The only small drawback, and it really is SMALL, is that when I dial a local number I have to include the three digit area code.
    We have had to do that for several years now here in North Carolina.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    Is this US only?
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    They have low international rates.
    If you go to their site you can see what they are..
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 205 Times in 163 Posts
    The places where the area code is required, is usually where they have more than one area code in the same area. Like Orlando.
    Where I live, we have only one area code in this area so the local phone company does not require the area code to be dialed for every call.

    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    Well, where I am I have to dial the area code for local calls made with Magic Jack..

    Doc, I think you are talking about a regular land line because all Magic Calls go over the internet through Magic Jack servers and they require an area code when being dialed.
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  8. #8
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 205 Times in 163 Posts
    Yes, I think we were talking about Ma Bell and not Magic jack.

    I've been trying to call my local phone co. to tell them to disconnect me, but no-one will answer the phone.
    I did get one recording telling me that all their personnel are in a training class today "Call Back Later".
    How's that for phone company service?

    JFYI, the Google Phone service is also FREE, extended to the end of at least 2012 and they too require the area code, even on local calls.

    So far Magic Jack is working very well for me, indeed.

    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    Well Doc, you must be in more rural area then me..

    Just don't pay the bill and see how fast they CALL you or disconnect you...

    I have had it for a couple of years...There are a few glitches every now and then like a dropped call but hey, at these prices I'm not complaining.
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    BATcher, not sure if Magic Jack is available outside the US. It appears you can call from outside the US to numbers within the US and Canada. It does not mention using the service for, for example, UK to UK calls, sorry.

    DrWho, In our case we do not have a land line at all. My wife and I each have a cell phone in which we share a service (Sprint) with our daughter in Alabama. She has 3 phones and we have 2. This system seems to work best for us as we have phone calls, txting and many more features on our phones and can make phone calls while traveling, etc. We did dump our land line a couple of years ago.
    Last edited by Medico; 2012-02-06 at 13:46.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    Ted, all he has to do is go to their site and open a chat with them and he can ask them if it's available where he is...
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Well BATcher, it's worth a shot to see if it's available in the UK.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  13. #13
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,793
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts

  14. #14
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 205 Times in 163 Posts

    Cool

    Well, I'd love to do that....just stop paying them, but they have ways of making life miserable for people who don't pay their bills.
    I've already disconnected the phone line outside my house, so they couldn't call me if they wanted to.

    YES, I live on a dirt road, twenty miles out of town.

    Well, that's what it looked like when I moved here, 24 years ago. Now, after I've been dragging it for 24 years,
    it looks like this:

    Yup, thas me with my Suzuki SX4 and my home-made road drag.

    I'm so far from the Cable Company, that by the time the TV and Internet signals get here, they're a day late. rofl

    I had a cable repairman out here this morning. My 'drop' is almost 200' long and the original installer had put in pretty small coax.
    So, I was having weak signal problems with my TV.
    Freezing, pixelating, blackouts, etc. The internet was working oK though.

    Anyway, with a little help from me, he took down the old cable and put up a new and much heavier cable.
    So I'm back in business, with a lot more signal reaching my Cable modem. That can't help but improve my Magic Jack signal as well.

    It seemed like I was getting some hummmmmming in my phone this morning, so I reversed the polarity of the input to the little 5v power supply that powers up the Magic Jack and all's quiet now. It's funny how little things can be so annoying. Everything is backed up with an APC 500w UPS, so I should still have phone service even during local power outages. At least long enough to call the power company.

    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I used to live out a ways, but could not adapt any more. I guess I've grown soft in my later years. We get along well with our cell phones, but they don't work where my parents live so I can see where Magic Jack could be handy. They presently have phone through the cable supplier (Time Warner) I will have to see how much they are paying. Perhaps I can find a way to save them some moolah.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •