Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger rcbjr2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Matthews, NC
    Posts
    279
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Word 2007 - Force Screen Refresh

    How can I force a screen refresh in Word 2007? I saw an old thread here suggesting I use Me.Repaint, but I must be missing something when I try this because I get errors when I try to run the macro. My issue is word wrap at the end of a line. Sometimes, and maybe it's related to the screen trying redraw with hyphenation, but I'll back up a word and try to type near that word, but the screen is not displaying the exact location of the insertion point so I wind up typing in the wrong place (e.g., in the middle of a word). I thought redrawing the screen might help this. Any suggestions on a macro to do this??

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,970
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 29 Times in 27 Posts
    Generally speaking you shouldn't have to force a screen refresh to get the screen to update in Word. On rare occasions the screen display may 'hang' in some kind of inaccurate display - that can usually be cured by doing a couple of Page Up or Page Downs.
    It can also help to work in Draft mode, if you're seeing problems with the screen updating.

    I don't tend to use hyphenation, but that could, in a long document, cause some screen updating issues as Word would have to keep updating the end of every line, at least in a given paragraph, while you're editing it. Working in draft mode should definitely help there.

    Me.Repaint sounds like a command relating to a userform, not to the application window. But in general use, it shouldn't be necessary to resort to a macro to get the screen to update.

    Gary

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger kmurdock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pacific Grove, California, USA
    Posts
    716
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 34 Times in 28 Posts
    Hi rcbjr2,

    On very rare occasions, I have found it useful to manually refresh the screen in Word.

    I created a macro and added that to my QAT. The macro is a very simple one, saved in my Normal template.
    Code:
    Sub RefreshDisplay()
    Application.ScreenRefresh
    End Sub
    I don't know if this will help with your hyphenation issue. However, nothing ventured....

    Best, Kim

    Added: In Word 2010 (can't access 2007 right now), you can also get the Screen Refresh command directly off the QAT > All Commands list.
    Last edited by kmurdock; 2012-02-07 at 11:31.

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger rcbjr2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Matthews, NC
    Posts
    279
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Gary,

    Thanks for the reply. You gave me an idea for a macro that uses a bookmark and PageUp. However, then I saw Kim's suggestion, so I thought I'd try that. I didn't know there was a ScreenRefresh command (although I guess I should have assumed there was). ;-)

    -Rich

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger rcbjr2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Matthews, NC
    Posts
    279
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Kim,

    Thanks for the suggestion. I will try that. I tried something more complicated in a macro, but Application.ScreenRefresh is much shorter. As I wrote to Gary, I didn't even know that ScreenRefresh was an available command.

    -Rich

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •