New Lounger
    Thanks

Word 2007 template stuck in compatibility mode! help!!!

Hi newbie here

I've in charge of customizing templates for office use, and have hit a bug. Due to a rare glitch in Word 2007, templates that began life as Word 2003 templates, were re-saved in 07 format, then stored and accessed on a Windows-based server system *phew* have a tendancy to lag and crash in all resulting documents. So I found the only reliable fix is to save the 2007 template in Compatibility mode for Word 2003. There are no 2007 features that need to be preserved.

My problem is this: My Word 2007 template must be saved in compatibility mode, or it won't work full stop. As we know, opening a template by double-clicking creates a new document based on the template, rather than opening the template itself. My resulting documents are being opened and saved as .docx files, which is what I want, but are stuck in compatibility mode. If I open one of these resulting documents, and use 'Convert', it changes to Word 2007 format just fine. But I want the files to automatically open in 2007 .docx format without needing to convert. Is this possible, or do I need to resort to macros?

Please note before replying: I am not asking how to save Word 2007 documents in compatiblity mode, or how to open 97-03 docs in Word 2007.

Under Word Options > Save, 'save files in this format' is set to 'Word document (*.docx)', and under 'Advanced', 'Layout file as if created in' is set to 'Word 03', can cannot be changed.

Any help would be hugely appreciated, this is doing my head in!!

Super Moderator
    Thanks
    Hi and welcome to the Lounge.

Without having reproduced the exact scenario you've described, it seems reasonable that new documents, created from a template set to compatibility mode, would start out life in compatibility mode too - since new documents are based on the templates they are created from.