Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    288
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Problem with pop-ups on bottom of screen

    I use W7 Home and IE 9.0. In general, I have no problems with pop-ups, except of late I'm getting an increasing number of pop-ups along the bottom of the screen. I'm not sure if I am posting this on the right topic (hard to believe this is a W7 problem, an IE9 problem, or maybe it fits some other category). But, any ideas on how I can eliminate such annoying pop-ups? Note that the elongated rectangular pop-ups occur on a lot of the Yahoo sites. Also there is usually an X where I can close the pop-up. Again, the pop-up is a long rectangle along the bottom of my screen, maybe 1/3"- 1" high.

    Mel

  2. Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hillsborough (San Francisco Bay area), California, USA
    Posts
    572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 54 Times in 53 Posts
    Mel,

    Show us a screen capture.

    Zig

  4. #3
    Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,168
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 134 Times in 115 Posts
    What is the message contained in the box? Can you take a screen grab of the "pop-up" so we can check what it is referring to - use the snipping tool in Win7.

    edit

    beaten to it by Zig!

    /edit

    It might be a dialog box rather than pop-up. The two are different - a dialog box is often generated by the OS or a program to alert the user to a issue or situation, while a pop-up is more often related to a particular website and is usually a message (occasionally malicious or fraudulent, but often annoying) from the remote web server.

    Internet Explorer's built in pop-up blocked will not block OS or application generated dialog boxes that try to alert you to a condition.

  5. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 931 Times in 852 Posts
    There are many pop ups that are a part of the new IE system. Rather than a pop down at the top of the window such as IE 8 did, IE 9 uses a pop up at the bottom of the window. Pop ups such as downloads and save actions, etc. Also if you have add ons, and the total time opening IE exceeds a pre-determined time because of the add ons, until you change the time, a pop up will always come up about the add ons. Could these be some of what you are seeing?
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    288
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I tried to do a screen shot with the snipper tool. I captured it. I could paste it in WORD, but it doesn't seem to paste here. How do I move my clipboard contents into the response box here?

    Mel

  7. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 931 Times in 852 Posts
    Go Advanced, then the Paperclip at top or Manage Attachments at bottom.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  8. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    288
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    What clip

    I didn't see a paperclip. I wish I cut just paste it.

    But I did attach it as a WORD file.
    Mel
    Attached Files Attached Files

  9. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    917
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
    I would say that you have a toolbar installed that is sending you adverts. Check in EI if you have any toolbars installed or dislayed on the top and disable/uninstall them.
    Or click on the tools icon got to toolbars and select disable addons to see if the popups disapear. If they do then you need to then select manage add ons and remove them one at a time to see which one is causing the ads.
    Last edited by curiousclive; 2012-02-14 at 16:20.
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  10. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    288
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    How do I do that?

    Mel

  11. #10
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 931 Times in 852 Posts
    Go Advanced:

    GoAdvanced.jpg

    Paper Clip and Manage Attachments:

    Paperclip.jpg
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  12. #11
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 931 Times in 852 Posts
    Manage Addons is in the Gear section (Upper Right). Find any toolbars and disable them to see if the problem is solved.

    Manage Addons.jpg AddOns.jpg
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  13. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    288
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Sigh...

    I checked the add-ons/toolbars and found nothing amiss and nothing that would explain the pop=ups.

    But a question: are the pop-ups that come on to the bottom of the screen also considered just plain old pop-ups. If so, is there a way to disable pop-ups?

    It does seem to occur a LOT on Yahoo based sites

    Mel

  14. #13
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hillsborough (San Francisco Bay area), California, USA
    Posts
    572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 54 Times in 53 Posts
    Mel,

    Also check for toolbars under "Add/Remove Programs."

    ??What happens if you uncheck "Status Bar" under the View menu??

    Zig
    Last edited by Zig; 2012-02-15 at 00:48.

  15. #14
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 931 Times in 852 Posts
    The Pop Up Blocker is most easily turned on on the Command Bar:

    PopUpBlocker.jpg

    If the Command Bar is not showing, Right Click in a blank area of the top Tool Bar and put a check mark in Command Bar:

    RightClickCommandBar.jpg

    Also, as Zig has stated many Tool Bars can be uninstalled from the Control Panel, Programs and Features area. Highlight the Toolbar and choose uninstall.

    Many of the pop ups at the bottom of the window are notices from IE that something has been done, for example if IE has blocked a pop up a small notice will come up that notifies you of that. If a download wants to start, IE will ask if you want to run it or save it, etc.
    Last edited by Medico; 2012-02-15 at 04:58.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  16. #15
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    917
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
    have you tried going to Tools / toolbars / and click on disable add-ons to see if that does anything re your problem?
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •