Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Registering a program on Windows: 32bit/64bit problem

    Hi,

    I wonder if someone could help with the following scenario: an inability to register a working program on a 64bit system.

    I needed a specialist - rather esoteric - program, recently, to run on my 64bit Win 7 Home Premium system. The following is what I have discovered:
    • The program needs a registration code to run beyond a trial of 30 times. The 'Registration code' is supplied by the supplier of the program in response to an 'Identification code', self-generated by the program, on install, according to my system; I send off the Identification code - and the supplier provides the necessary 'Registration code'. Once I input this registration code the program runs beyond the trial, forever - but only on the system it is registered on.
    • The program was developed (using Visual Basic, I don't know what version) for Windows XP - but it runs perfectly well on Windows 7 32bit and 64bit systems.
    • The problem the supplier has is this: on 64bit systems the Identification Code to Registration code translation does not work - i.e. as far as can be seen the program cannot be registered on a 64bit system; the supplier says this is probably because the program when installed on a 64bit system uses '64bit translation' to generate the Identification code - and this fails to generate a matching valid 'Registration code' on their (32bit?) Registration code generator.
    The program developer died in 2005, and the source code is no longer available. The supplier has found no one to support the program - and himself knows little on the technical side of IT.

    Is there a possible solution to this problem for 64bit systems? Perhaps in terms of:
    • Generating matched up Identification and Registration codes on 64bit systems; this would be the preferred solution - or
    • Extending the trial indefinitely - by identifying where this trial data is stored and resetting it when necessary (by say a registry reset reg file, if the trial data is in the registry). The program is not used widely and is unlikely to be distributed illegally - so the supplier, with whom I am in contact - would be amenable to such a solution for his increasing 64bit users (I actually had to buy and register a 32bit version of Windows to use the program indefinitely - but would anyway prefer to use it on my 64bit system) - or
    • Is there another way that I haven't thought of?
    I would be grateful if someone could suggest a solution to this problem - or could you suggest a site (a programming site perhaps?) that may help to resolve this issue.

    Thank you, discs.

  2. #2
    Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,168
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 134 Times in 115 Posts
    I would say that your first choice would require specialist knowledge of the application and the Identification code algorithm, which since the developer is no longer with us will be difficult.

    Your second option would technically be in breach of licence, so even if the distributor is amenable, he or she may not be able to legally agree to such a work around, even if it were possible.

    There may however be a third option, which should be perfectly legal, but may cost you around 80. Install Virtual Box and inside that, install and activate a Windows XP 32Bit OS. Then inside XP, install the application which should then generate the Identification code correctly.

    XP runs just fine inside VirtualBox on a Win7 64Bit host.
    Last edited by Tinto Tech; 2012-02-14 at 19:21. Reason: Typo in last line

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Set it's compatability to run on 32-bit systems.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you for your replies to my questions.

    Tinto tech: yes, I installed VirtualBox, and then Windows 32bit within it - then I installed the program, and it registered fine.

    But after I wrote this posting because my main system (64bit) is all properly set up (peripherals, printer etc.) and I would prefer to use the specialist program in question on it I wrote of to the administrator; I asked to try the Identification Code on my 64bit machine and could they send me a 'Registration Code' for it. They did - and guess what, it works: the program registered fine on the 64bit system.

    So I am not sure whether I was originally given wrong information, or not - since I have no way of testing this on other 64bit Windows systems!

    Within my very personal use context the problem has resolved.

    Thanks again, discs.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •