Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Welkom, South Africa
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Win 7 and Adobe Audition - audio problem

    Under Win XP I could record any sound played on my PC using Adobe Audition 1.5. After I upgraded to Win 7 64-bit Prof, I keep getting this error message: "Can not find the mixer program "sndvol32 /r". I have received the same (or similar) message using other audio / video programs like Camstudio and Audacity. Is there a setting I need to change? I don't find that file on my PC. Please help.

  2. #2
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    460
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
    Windows 7 and Windows XP audio subsystems are very different so if you haven't upgraded any audio program to be compatible with Windows 7, that's almost certainly why its not working.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,755
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 652 Times in 575 Posts
    In particular, Adobe Audition 1.5 is 7 years old; only versions 3, 4 and 5 are compatible with Windows 7.

    Have you tried the Windows 7 Sound Recorder under Accessories?: Record audio with Sound Recorder

    Bruce

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Welkom, South Africa
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Infinicore and BruceR. I can appreciate that Audition 1.5 is old, but I have a similar ppoblem with other, new programs.
    Although Sound Recorder will not solve my problem to record audio from a file played on the PC, it might help find the solution. When I try to record from the mic, using Sound Recorder, I get no sound. This same mic (and same settings) works fine in Skype.
    In XP I used to use the Stereo Mix option. This is not available in my Win 7 Sound control panel.
    Both "Show Disabled Devices" and "Show Disconnected Devices" are checked.
    Can this problem be due to a missing file in Windows?

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,755
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 652 Times in 575 Posts
    That file doesn't exist in Windows 7, but there's a link in this answer that shows how to edit an Adobe Audition .xml file to point to sndvol.exe which replaced it:

    Audition V2 under Windows 7 asks for SNDVOL32 /r which under Windows 7 is changed to SNDVOL.EXE

    The Windows Sound Recorder can record from other programs as well as from a microphone.

    I don't understand why a new installation of Audacity would not be able to record.

    Bruce
    Last edited by BruceR; 2012-02-16 at 11:07.

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Welkom, South Africa
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    BruceR. Thanks for the link. Unfortunately I get and Error 404 - Page not found. Available anywhere else?

    How do I change Sound Recorder settings to record steaming audio? Someone suggested a link for the speaker output to the line-in, but that sound rather brute force to me!

    All I actually want is to record streaming audio and / or video + audio for later use. Seems like Free Hi-Q Recorder can manage the audio, but Camstudio does not capture any audio with the video. Any suggestions.

    Leon

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,755
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 652 Times in 575 Posts
    Sorry, the forum ate my link and won't let me edit it properly. It should have been http://forums.adobe.com/thread/613794

    Bruce

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,755
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 652 Times in 575 Posts
    Perhaps Control Panel, Troubleshooting, Hardware and Sound, Troubleshoot audio recording would be worth a try?

    Or this Troubleshoot audio-recording problems Microsoft Fix it?

    Bruce

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Welkom, South Africa
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    BruceR: Thanks for the new link. I checked it out, but it only works for Audition 2. I have 1.5 and the files are not the same. I looked for something similar, but no luck.
    The troubleshooting wasn't worth the trouble. No joy.
    After many hours with Google it seems the lack of a Stereo Mix option is hardware related. Apparently not every version of Win 7 has that option.
    I have a sound solution (Free Hi-Q Recorder). Will now concentrate on getting Camstudio to work.
    Maybe I sould try an old sound card and see what happens.

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    828
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 38 Times in 34 Posts
    I also have Audition 1.5 installed on my 64-bit Win 7 machine. It refuses to record any sound whatsoever. I also have Audacity installed and use it for sound recording, and then switch to Audition for heavy-duty editing. Not ideal, but then I don't do all that much recording any more (if I did,I'd probably spend the money to upgrade to the latest Audition - I've liked it every since it was CoolEdit 2000!)

  11. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Welkom, South Africa
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Cafed00d: What are your settings for Audacity to record steaming audio? I am not having any success.

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    828
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 38 Times in 34 Posts
    Are you asking how to record the sound coming out of your speakers? That is, record what you hear? There used to be such an input device available with with Creative sound drivers, but the latest drivers don't have it. When I mentioned recording, I meant with devices, such as a turntable, connected to the line-in port.

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Win 7 and Adobe Audition - audio problem

    This is annoying, I have reinstalled audition 2.0 on mt Win 7 Machine and I had fixed this error by changing some xml path or something, but I can't find the info again grrrr.....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •