Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Star Lounger
    Thanks

Question Cloning HDD - basic Q's

We've got a HDD going bad; Dell is sending us a replacement as it's under warranty. The PC it's going into is joined to the domain. I'd like to use CloneZilla for this job (never used it, but I've heard it's not hard to use). What problems, if any, can I expect with the new HDD and the domain? I don't think there's a SID problem, but I'm not sure. (I'm rather new at working with HDD replacement.)
    Mike W.

WS Lounge VIP
    Thanks
    Dell or the disk manufacturer should have a free utility to clone the disk. Connect the new disk to the internal controller, boot form the utility disk and clone. Just make sure you don't re-boot the PC until you have the new disk on the original cable and have removed the old disk.
    SID was never an issue.

cheers, Paul

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

Mike68847 (2012-02-16),rgrosz (2012-02-17)

Gold Lounger
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike68847 View Post
    We've got a HDD going bad; Dell is sending us a replacement as it's under warranty. The PC it's going into is joined to the domain. I'd like to use CloneZilla for this job (never used it, but I've heard it's not hard to use).
    Mike,
    Hello... "CloneZilla" user interface is not all that easy to use... (clunky and geeky ) and it's easy to make an error for someone who has never used it before... I would suggest that you go through the screens first ... Another alternative would be to use Macrium Reflect (Free) Version 5 forward or EaseUS Todo ...Both have cloning functions that are much easier to use that "CloneZilla" Regards Fred

PS: Macrium Reflect Macrium Free EaseUs EaseUs Free
    Last edited by Just Plain Fred; 2012-02-16 at 16:01.
    PlainFred

None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

5. The Following User Says Thank You to Just Plain Fred For This Useful Post: