2 Star Lounger
    Thanks

I'm new to Windows 7

My XP machine puked on Fri., so bought an eMachine with 7 & boy what an experience!, some good,some questionable. So I have at least a couple questions right now that should probably be posted seperate but will leave that to a moderator if need be.

1st . . why am I getting so many 'update' notices?!! Don't think there were any when I shut down Fri. but 60 of them sometime on Sat., think I'd done a re-boot after removal of some of the 'pre-loaded' garbage that MS thinks we need. Then I think 1 at shut down last eve., then 4 earlier today & I believe just 1 right now, a .Net of some sort.

2nd . . where do I find all my 'puter info in one spot to be able to post it in all my posts ( maybe called a sig.? )

all I know is Windows 7 Home Premium --- don't know if its 32 or 64

IE 8

Thank you,
    grits ( a li'l ole granny who's not too puter smart )

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Hi,

Regarding 1, it really depends on which version you are running, i.e., whether it includes SP1 or not. Anyway, Windows does know what it needs to download, so I wouldn't worry too much about it.

Regarding 2, click the start orb (start button), then right click computer on the right and choose properties. This will give you basic info. If you want detailed info, click the start Orb and on the text box immediately above type Sys. From the options offered, choose System Information.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to ruirib For This Useful Post:

grits (2012-02-20)

Thanks