Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Outlook times out connecting to Yahoo via POP3

    I have had two Yahoo mail addresses for several years, and have always downloaded incoming mail using POP3 to Outlook (originally OL 2003, for the last year or so, OL 2010). This has been working successfully all this time (until recently). I have read comments that Yahoo does not support POP3, but I understand that this only applies to certain countries for some reason (notably USA). In any case, it works fine in my country (Australia). In troubleshooting this problem, I have revisited the Yahoo mail options and it is still there and still set up under "POP & Forwarding".

    So, the problem: a couple of weeks ago, I started getting pop-up messages from Outlook prompting for User Name and Password (both of which fields were already populated with the correct information). This suggests to me that Outlook failed to login to the Yahoo POP3 mail server. It happens with both my Yahoo email addresses, but not with other addresses that I have with Gmail and my ISP.

    Searching through the Lounge to see if this problem has been reported before, I found only one which was similar
    (http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...Bpop%2Boutlook). The solution given there is not applicable to me (upgrade to paid service).

    In my case, the problem is not that I cannot connect at all, just that the failure to connect is intermittent. Currently, I have Outlook set to check the servers every 30 minutes. In the last 2-3 weeks, more often than not, the Yahoo connection fails on one or both of my Yahoo accounts with the resulting pop-up described above. However, sometimes it gets through OK. One impact is that I may have to wait a few hours to get my mail downloaded. Another is that every half hour I get the pop-up suddenly displaying on top of the window I am working on at the time (VERY annoying after a while!).

    At first I thought it might be an internet problem, but I am not having any other network problems -- even the Yahoo SMTP server connects every time when I am sending email. I have pinged the POP3 server a number of times: it always responds normally. Accessing my accounts via webmail also works OK.

    I was about to add that I seem to have gotten a reprieve today, with no occurrences of the problem. But then I had the dreaded pop-up appear while typing this post.

    Anyway, I was just wondering if anyone has seen this before and, better yet, has an answer to what is happening, hopefully also a solution! I am thinking of changing over to Gmail as my primary address, but that would be a major project as my Yahoo addresses are in use by too many people and subscriptions.

    Forwarding, rather than POPping is another alternative, but that has problems as well (which I may save for a separate thread).

    Thanks for any help.

    Pete.

    PS: Operating system is Windows 7 Pro (x64)
    Last edited by pegleg pete; 2012-02-21 at 06:11. Reason: Added OS version

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Hi,

    Welcome to the Lounge,

    My experience with similar situations (on different providers, not yahoo) is that it seems to be a server problem. Maybe check the actual error message as reported by the failed send / receive operation. I doubt that there is something you can do, to be honest.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to ruirib For This Useful Post:

    pegleg pete (2012-02-21)

  4. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    That was also my suspicion. It has been happening so often for the last 2-3 weeks that I thought there might be another Lounger on the same server who could confirm the problem. Some additional info FWIW -- my Yahoo email domain is @yahoo.com.au -- don't know if this would be significant.

    Thanks for your quick response! And the welcome.

  5. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Maybe other users can share their experiences, with either yahoo.com or yahoo.com.au. The servers for the two domains seem to be different, so it may indeed matter whether you use one or the other. Have you tried a quick contact with yahoo's tech support?

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to ruirib For This Useful Post:

    pegleg pete (2012-02-21)

  7. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ruirib View Post
    The servers for the two domains seem to be different, so it may indeed matter whether you use one or the other. Have you tried a quick contact with yahoo's tech support?
    The POP server is "pop.mail.yahoo.com" which does not seem to be specific to the AU domain.

    I couldn't find Yahoo tech support when I first looked for it, but I will look again. Anyway, my understanding is that there was no support for a free service.

  8. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Interesting. There is also a pop.mail.yahoo.com.au. The pop service is actually a paid one in other markets, so they may have some support providers. My idea was basically for you to inquire if there have been problems with the pop server recently.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to ruirib For This Useful Post:

    pegleg pete (2012-02-21)

  10. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks, I didn't know that. I will try "pop.mail.yahoo.com.au" and see if it makes any improvement.
    Last edited by pegleg pete; 2012-02-22 at 00:05. Reason: Corrected server name

  11. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Have set up both Yahoo accounts using: pop.mail.yahoo.com.AU and smtp.mail.yahoo.com.AU.

    Both seem to work OK. Will let them "soak" for a day or so and see if I still get the timeouts.

    Pete.

  12. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Great . Let us know how it goes.

  13. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Asheville, NC
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have this same issue occasionally with gmail. I suspect that it is a server issue. I close Outlook, restart and it's usually fine.

  14. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    633
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    >>Will let them "soak" for a day or so and see if I still get the timeouts

    It may not help any, but there is an adjustable Server Timeout setting in Outlook's Account settings, under Advanced Settings. You could try bumping it up 30 or 60 seconds and see if that helps. Even with my Outlook set to 2 minutes, I still periodically get your error for a couple days. I have a "paid" Yahoo account (at&t has Yahoo handle email for their customers).

  15. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Has been about two days now with no problems (touch wood!). Appears that it may have been a problem with the original server I was using.

    I was aware of the timeout setting. Early on I progressively set it for longer periods, right out to two minutes. Unfortunately it does not seem to retry the login during that period, but just waits in vain for a response to the original attempt. All that does is just delay the appearance of the pop-up .

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •