Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    701
    Thanks
    89
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

    Question eudora - can i make it use firefox and not IE ?

    eudora 6 and now 7.1 defaults to IE when you click a link in the email

    when they show the link i cut and paste into firefox
    but
    when they dont i have to click and eudora uses IE

    IE is slow and buggy on my pc and not very easy to use compared to firefox

    so is there any way to make eudora link to firefox instead ??

    worst case is there a newer eudora v8/thunderbird or something that is free of bugs and gives that option?

    is there some other eudora like pop3 email client that can do it ?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,753
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 651 Times in 574 Posts
    Guessing XP, right?

    What does Control Panel, Set Program Access and Defaults say for Default Web Browser?

    Bruce

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    701
    Thanks
    89
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BruceR View Post
    Guessing XP, right?

    What does Control Panel, Set Program Access and Defaults say for Default Web Browser?

    Bruce
    yes
    xp pro recently updated to sp3
    but problem has been there since the pc was bought with sp2

    ooopsies
    i find control panel
    but there is no set program access and defaults on it

    under internet options / programs /
    it says IE is the default but no way to change it is shown

    did not find any other place that referenced program acess in the control panel

    i am not a total noob but clearly still a little short of a real power user
    so i will need another clue as to where that change can be made

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,797
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    If you click on Start, you should see Set Program Access and Defaults in the right hand column. If its not there,
    right click on start,
    select properties,
    click on customize,
    click on the advanced tab
    under Start Menu items,
    scroll down to Set Program Access and Defaults and check the box next to it
    Click Ok and it should show up the next time you click on Start

    Jerry

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,753
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 651 Times in 574 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by speedball View Post
    ooopsies
    i find control panel
    but there is no set program access and defaults on it
    Sorry, my mistake.

    For XP, I should have said Control Panel, Add or Remove Programs, Set Program Access and Defaults.

    Bruce

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to BruceR For This Useful Post:

    speedball (2012-02-24)

  7. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    701
    Thanks
    89
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BruceR View Post
    Sorry, my mistake.

    For XP, I should have said Control Panel, Add or Remove Programs, Set Program Access and Defaults.

    Bruce
    Great!

    That worked !!

    Would not have thought to dig deep into that folder to find that function.

    Just changed Browser choice there and the email link went to firefox.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •