Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Paradise, CA USA
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Noisy Hard Drive

    About two or three minutes after booting, the hard drive begins to make a clicking noise and then shortly after the computer freezes. I then have to do a forced shutdown. After letting it sit for about 5 minutes it will boot, but then the same happens. Is there a fix or is my HD toast?

    Ray

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by stringdoctor View Post
    About two or three minutes after booting, the hard drive begins to make a clicking noise and then shortly after the computer freezes. I then have to do a forced shutdown. After letting it sit for about 5 minutes it will boot, but then the same happens. Is there a fix or is my HD toast?

    Ray
    Ray,
    Hello...Best make a Full OS Image as soon as you can either 3rd party Macrium Reflect Free or native Windows Backup....and place it someplace other than on your primary Hard Drive...DVD's or external drive of some kind. You can also download a trial of hdsentinel trial This will show the state of your Hard Drive.... Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Just Plain Fred For This Useful Post:

    stringdoctor (2012-02-24)

  4. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Paradise, CA USA
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Thanks Fred for the heads-up
    Fortunately I have transferred all my pertinent data to a flash drive. So my next question would then be if I am forced to replace the HD, do you know if my backup OS software will load on it? Typically computers that have the OS pre installed supply you with a disc that states this software is already installed "for system backup or repair only" or will I need to purchase new OS software too? Ray

  5. #4
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    If you use any of the methods mentioned here they will be IMAGES and they will include your operating system and you will be able to install a new hard drive and restore the image that you made and you will be back up and running in no time..
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Banyarola For This Useful Post:

    stringdoctor (2012-02-24)

  7. #5
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Yeah, defininately back up the drive, it sounds like your about to loose it.
    If your computer came with an OEM disk you will have no difficulty reinstlling the operating system.
    If your computer came with a recovery partition on the same drive that is failing, that will be a different matter, you will need to back it up quickly by imaging the entire drive to an external drive or a DVD disk if you are able.
    Last edited by CLiNT; 2012-02-24 at 08:57.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to CLiNT For This Useful Post:

    stringdoctor (2012-02-24)

  9. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Surely does sound like it's close to death. I doubt if it will stay up long enough to make an Image. This thread discusses a method of possibly getting data from or Imaging the drive before replacing it. Good luck.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    stringdoctor (2012-02-24)

  11. #7
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    You might also want to try to boot to a recovery DVD and run checkdisk with the "r" switch enabled.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to CLiNT For This Useful Post:

    stringdoctor (2012-02-24)

  13. #8
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Paradise, CA USA
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Thanks for the suggestions. Unfortunately the drive wont last long enough to make a full backup. It freezes in less than 5 minutes then progress is lost. I was able to save the files I needed on a USB external. As far as saving the whole enchilada, Nada. And so it goes.

  14. #9
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    I would go for the image regardless what you think if it's possible.
    Being you already have your stuff backed up doing the image will take less time then to re-install everything manually.
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •