Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts

    Browser benchmark test

    No installation required. http://peacekeeper.futuremark.com/

    RR.JPG
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    RR,

    This is interesting:
    PeacekeeperFF1002.JPG
    Seems like your copy of FF 10.0.2 is taking it easy.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    928
    Thanks
    61
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

    My Test results

    Seems to be testing the graphics card more than the browser
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,492
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    Browser benchmark comparisons are only valid for the same machine or one with identical hardware, OS and software load. They're also quite variable then, an average over 2-3 runs is better, then run the same benchmarks with an alternative browser. Compare the individual sub-tests across browsers to see the strengths and weaknesses of each.

    Here's some I ran a few days ago - ignore the 767 score, only the 1654, 1586, 1552 and 1433 are mine (don't use this link and then run your own benchmarks, they'll be added to this list.), use http://peacekeeper.futuremark.com/ to test your own after clearing the futuremark cookies.
    Last edited by satrow; 2012-02-25 at 09:22.

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    RR,

    This is interesting:
    PeacekeeperFF1002.JPG
    Seems like your copy of FF 10.0.2 is taking it easy.
    My test was on my Laptop and has lower specs than my desktop.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by curiousclive View Post
    Seems to be testing the graphics card more than the browser
    When posting files or images in the future, you'll find this way is easier for all to use. Image and File posting..pdf
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I do not know how valid any of this is but, here are my results with IE 9 and Google Chrome 18 (beta):


    1324
    HTML5 Capabilities 3/7

    Log in to save this result!
    Detailed version information: Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; MSIE 9.0; Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; Trident/5.0)
    2012-02-25 Internet Explorer 9.0 (64 Bit)
    Click for details 1324



    2345
    HTML5 Capabilities 7/7

    Log in to save this result!
    Detailed version information: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64) AppleWebKit/535.19 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/18.0.1025.39 Safari/535.19
    2012-02-25 Chrome 18.0.1025.39 (64 Bit)
    Click for details 2345



    Sorry I do not have the pretty picture as RR and RG have. Both these browsers seem to load as quickly to my tired, old eyes, so who knows.

    These were run on my laptop (full specs shown in my sig) one after the other. To be fair I was multitasking (copying the IE results to Word) while the Google tests were running.
    Last edited by Medico; 2012-02-25 at 09:44.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    I do not know how valid any of this is but, here are my results with IE 9 and Google Chrome 18 (beta):


    1324
    HTML5 Capabilities 3/7

    Log in to save this result!
    Detailed version information: Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; MSIE 9.0; Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; Trident/5.0)
    2012-02-25 Internet Explorer 9.0 (64 Bit)
    Click for details 1324



    2345
    HTML5 Capabilities 7/7

    Log in to save this result!
    Detailed version information: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64) AppleWebKit/535.19 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/18.0.1025.39 Safari/535.19
    2012-02-25 Chrome 18.0.1025.39 (64 Bit)
    Click for details 2345



    Sorry I do not have the pretty picture as RR and RG have. Both these browsers seem to load as quickly to my tired, old eyes, so who knows.

    These were run on my laptop (full specs shown in my sig) one after the other. To be fair I was multitasking (copying the IE results to Word) while the Google tests were running.
    So Ted, this is the result for 'Chrome' for others to beat. Well done.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    My feelings are that these might be testing a lot more than just the browser. I might be wrong. How good is your graphics card? Does your ISP play a part in the results? Seems to me these are very subjective tests. Who knows.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  10. #10
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Ted,

    Did you read the text below during the test to see what was being tested, then click the green box when done for more details ?
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Did not have time to do that stuff. Have many other things going on. I always take these sorts of things at face value. These things are very subjective. Tests can be designed to make one widget look better than another widget. The second widget maker then pays someone to design a test that shows his widget better than the first. Just like all the ratings we read on all the internet sites. For example, PC Mag recently slammed MalwareBytes Pro. Who paid for that test? Again we use what works for us regardless of what these testing sites tell us.

    I go to internet speed sites for example and check my download and upload speeds. One site tells me download speeds approx. 17.5 MB/s and upload speeds approx. 2.5 MB/s. Next test site 5 minutes later shows download speed of 12 MB/s and upload speed of 1.5 MB/s. Which site is right? Both actually because it depends on the traffic along the routes each site uses to run the test. How were the tests run?

    Bottom line is we all use the browser we like and which works for us. I use IE 9 as default and Chrome as backup. I sometimes use Chrome here, but don't like all the things it does differently than I'm used to.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    928
    Thanks
    61
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    When posting files or images in the future, you'll find this way is easier for all to use. Image and File posting..pdf
    Thanks Roderunner that is exactly what I did. But had to paste snipping tool into a word document as it would not let me paste it into box. Don't know how to get snipping tool images into a post so any help appreciated.
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Clive,

    You have to save the Sniping Tool to a .jpg on your disk then you can load the file using the Browse button. I've created a directory "ImagesToPost" where I place these so I always have one place to go. Then every so often I just clear the directory.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  14. #14
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by curiousclive View Post
    Thanks Roderunner that is exactly what I did. But had to paste snipping tool into a word document as it would not let me paste it into box. Don't know how to get snipping tool images into a post so any help appreciated.
    I know RG beat me AGAIN, but have this anyway. How to make an Image.pdf
    Last edited by Roderunner; 2012-02-25 at 21:57.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  15. #15
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,492
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    Umm, especially for this benchmark, the images are pretty worthless anyway, except for bragging rights. The real data is only available from the linked Peacekeeper page - see my post and link in #4 and check the details that are available.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •