Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts

    Microsoft Fixit Center Pro

    Here's a new fixit site offered by M'Soft that people might be interested in:

    https://wc.ficp.support.microsoft.co...owReturn=False

    Dick

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to Dick-Y For This Useful Post:

    Medico (2012-02-26)

  3. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Nice find Dick. We'll see how well it performs over time. It is a beta tool at this time.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #3
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Thanks Dick,

    I've ran the performance analysis on my desktop I'll report back when the results are in.

    Update: Submitted at 9:00 it's now 14:24 and the results are still being calculated!
    Last edited by RetiredGeek; 2012-02-26 at 14:25. Reason: Update Status
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  5. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,753
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 652 Times in 575 Posts
    The first time I visited Microsoft Fix it Center Pro I found the interface a little confusing, so I did little more than perform a scan and click a couple of buttons. But when I went back a few days later I took a bit more notice, especially of the one potential issue the scan had identified with my Windows 7 Professional on a Sony Vaio laptop:

    Check if driver verifier has been enabled for at least one driver (Under Windows > System Performance > System slowness or high CPU utilization (1) )Description: Driver verifier was detected to be enabled on the system, please ensure you understand the ramifications of enabling driver verifier on a system as it may slow the system down during production operations. Enabling driver verifier should only be used to troubleshoot driver issues such as memory corruption, i/o verification, memory leaks, etc. More information about Driver Verifier and turning it off or on can be found on the referenced article. http://support.microsoft.com/kb/244617

    After reading there about Driver Verifier Manager (Verifier.exe in %WinDir%\System32), I ran that from a shortcut and selected first Display existing settings and then Delete existing settings.

    After a reboot, my PC was noticeably faster for just about everything and CPU usage was much lower the whole time. It had returned to its snappy reactions of many months ago, and when I ran the Performance re-assessment of Windows Experience Index it was back up a few points to where it used to be a long time ago.

    So I've come away with two messages:

    1) Running the Performance troubleshooter analysis at Microsoft Fix it Center Pro can be worthwhile (particularly to identify apparently hidden issues - I had previously checked startup items and task manager processes many times).

    2) Running the Driver Verifier Manager as explained in that KB occasionally may be beneficial, especially if any notable system slowness has been evident. (I have no clue how my system had been set to run with a driver verifier permanently set, or whether that would have been done automatically by Windows itself or some driver utility program.)

    Bruce

  6. #5
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Hey All,

    I finally got my results:
    FixitCenterProTest.JPG
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  7. #6
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    When I try it, it ask for a Live ID sign in to use it.
    Is there a way to use it without a sign in?
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  8. #7
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Bany,

    I don't see a way to do that. You need to sign in so they have an account to post the results to. It took a couple of days before the results were posted and I had to log back in to get then they do not send you an email. I used my old MS Passport signin and it worked just fine though.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  9. #8
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    Boy, the things they do to get information from you.

    I think I once had a passport ID..If I can find it I'll try it and if not I'll commit suicide!
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  10. #9
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    My old passport doesn't work and when I went to sign up they asked too many questions so I canceled out.
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  11. #10
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    As of today mine is still listed as being calculated. Something must obviously be wrong. Of well.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  12. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    It's a beta site.

    Dick

  13. #12
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,797
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    It can take over a day to get a response. Makes me wonder if they have staff looking at the data rather than just an automated response.

    Jerry

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •