Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Print Spooler stops after a few seconds

    A Google search shows I'm certainly not alone in suffering from a print Spooler that keeps stopping, just a few seconds after it is started.

    This is the third time my PCs (Win7-64 and XP-32) have suffered from it, but this time I haven't been able to fix it.

    Suggestions I have tried:

    1/ In regedit, go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CURRENTCONTROLSET\CONTRO L\PRINT\ and check the Providers folder, there are two by default: LanMan Print Services and Internet Print Provider (delete any others)
    - Mine have always been correct.

    2/ Restore the system back to the last good Restore Point.
    - All my Restore Points have been deleted!

    3/ Restart the PC. Navigate to C:\Windows\System32\spool\PRINTERS and delete any files in there and then restart the print spooler.
    - This always worked for me until this week.

    4/ Click Start, type "spoolsv", right-click spoolsv.exe and choose Properties then the Security tab. Select Administrator-type user and take Full Control of this file.
    - I wasn't permitted to do this (Access Denied), even though I am an Administrator. Full Control is still owned by TrustedInstaller.

    5/ Contact the printer manufacturer for the latest driver. Canon responded with a driver, but...
    - I can't uninstall the old one because the spooler isn't running!

    The printer is connected via the network (wired). After trying to fix the problem on my Win-7 Home Premium desktop PC, I also tried my Win-7 laptop with the same result and then my wife's Win-XP laptop which managed to print two pages before suffering the same fate.

    How can I get my printer working and prevent this happening again?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    To what device is the printer attached?

    Are there files to delete in the spooler folder?

    Have you completely uninstalled and reinstalled the printer?

    Joe

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by k64 View Post

    How can I get my printer working and prevent this happening again?
    k64,
    Hello.... I have a few ideas ,

    1. Check... Administrative Tools>System Configuration>Services> Print Spooler... and make sure that it's checked off

    2. Check...Administrative Tools>Computer Management>Services and Applications> Services>Print Spooler.

    3. If it's an "Ownership matter" post back and i will help you become the new "Owner" Regards Fred
    Attached Images Attached Images
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    The printer is attached to the router (wired).

    Files in the Spooler folder have been deleted.

    The uninstaller aborts when it discovers the spooler is not running!

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Just Plain Fred View Post
    k64,
    Hello.... I have a few ideas ,

    1. Check... Administrative Tools>System Configuration>Services> Print Spooler... and make sure that it's checked off

    2. Check...Administrative Tools>Computer Management>Services and Applications> Services>Print Spooler.

    3. If it's an "Ownership matter" post back and i will help you become the new "Owner" Regards Fred
    1. and 2. check out correctly
    3. The owner (i.e. Full Control) is TrustedInstaller, which I take to be correct as it's the same on a PC that's OK.

    Keith

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by k64 View Post
    1. and 2. check out correctly
    3. The owner (i.e. Full Control) is TrustedInstaller, which I take to be correct as it's the same on a PC that's OK.
    Keith,
    Hello...If i look at Control Panel>Hardware and Sound>Devices and Printers> and double click on my printer and then "Security Tab"... Only "Administrators" have "Full Control" as i have set, can print..The "Owner" doesn't... Check and see if you can print ...Might need to re-arrange the Owner \ Administrator thing. Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    928
    Thanks
    61
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
    you could install "takeownership" that makes it easy to gain ownership just from the right click menu.

    Have added the file to attachments.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  8. #8
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Just Plain Fred View Post
    Keith,
    Hello...If i look at Control Panel>Hardware and Sound>Devices and Printers> and double click on my printer and then "Security Tab"... Only "Administrators" have "Full Control" as i have set, can print..The "Owner" doesn't... Check and see if you can print ...Might need to re-arrange the Owner \ Administrator thing. Regards Fred
    Just after starting this thread I found the Bluebrad site http://www.bluebrad.com/index.php?op...tech&Itemid=68 and clicked "Microsoft Fix it" on this page to run the wizard (with reset option turned off).

    I don't know what action it took but it worked on my desktop, which is now printing just fine, but when I ran the same wizard on my laptop (same OS and basic set-up) it failed with the message "This Microsoft Fix it does not apply to your operating system or application version".

    That was last night (~15hr ago). I have just opened up the laptop to check something for this thread... and that's working too!

    Just to clear up this Ownership business:
    On the Desktop, spoolsv.exe is Owned by TrustedInstaller, and the printer is Owned by SYSTEM.
    On the Laptop, spoolsv.exe is Owned by TrustedInstaller but I can't establish ownership as there is no Security tab available.

    I think I should close this thread now as I am able to print again.
    Thank you all for your help in this matter.

    Keith

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to k64 For This Useful Post:

    Nathan D. Linn (2013-11-16)

  10. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by curiousclive View Post
    you could install "takeownership" that makes it easy to gain ownership just from the right click menu.

    Have added the file to attachments.
    Thanks, curiousclive, I've installed this and will use it when I need it.

    Keith

  11. #10
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by k64 View Post
    Just to clear up this Ownership business:
    On the Desktop, spoolsv.exe is Owned by TrustedInstaller, and the printer is Owned by SYSTEM.
    On the Laptop, spoolsv.exe is Owned by TrustedInstaller but I can't establish ownership as there is no Security tab available.
    Keith,
    Glad that you found the answer and thanks for posting back..As to the "Ownership issue"...

    1. First in "XP" (home) you would need to enter safe mode ( F-8 at boot time Hitting it repeatedly ) to access the secutity "Tab"

    2. System or Trusted Installer ... Doesn't matter...It's who has "Full Control" "User" or "Administrator" to Print...Different screen... Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •