Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Bath, UK
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    XP activation: MSE keeps saying "Needs checking"

    Every couple of weeks MSE (MS Security Essentials) says XP isn't activated and wants to go online and resolve the issue.

    This is a valid, bought, activated, never shared or in anyway tampered with version of XP, and as far as I can tell XP itself is happy, so why is MSE getting itself into a tizz?

    I let MSE go online and it clears itself OK, but thats just another annoying step to make for no reason.

    Any ideas what's up?

    Is MSE validating every version of XP twice a month??

    Is this a step towards forcing people to Win7/8?

    The machine is fully patched, protected, scanned as clean with reputable tools, and has no flaky-ware on it.


  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Skelmersdale, Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    160
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    I had a similar problem.

    It annoyed me so much I uninstalled MSE and went back to Avast, which has recently been updated.

  4. #3
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,854
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 63 Times in 52 Posts
    I had that happen a while back also and then it stopped by itself.
    Never did figure out what was causing it.
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  5. #4
    5 Star Lounger chowur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    804
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 54 Times in 51 Posts
    This gives long paintfull instructions on how to fix, or download a script that does it for you, the script didnt work but the long painfull instructions do.Here is the link;http://support.microsoft.com/kb/312295/en-us
    Problems cannot be solved by the same level of thinking that created them. -Albert Einsten

  6. #5
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,218
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 162 Times in 126 Posts
    I use a very short and Not at all Painful way to be rid of MS interference with my OS.
    First, turn off Auto Updates and then delete whatever programs are causing you problems.

    MS claims that they are continuing to support XP, but in truth, millions of users worldwide are complaining about MS Updates that are corrupting their computers. While at the same time, MS is spending Millions of $'s on TV adds, pushing Windows 7.

    Sometimes you have to ask yourself the hard question....."Who's in charge of this PC, me or Microsoft?"

    I answered that question for myself several years ago, when WGA was raising cain with people, telling them that their legal copy of XP was illegal. A little program called, "WGA Remover" took care of that annoyance. Shutting off Auto Updates put the icing on the cake.

    But, y'all have to do what you feel is right for you. Eh?

    The Doctor
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

  7. #6
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,391
    Thanks
    127
    Thanked 486 Times in 447 Posts
    I agree, maybe a repair install if the behavior continues after MSE has been removed.I would also suggest being ultra carful about MS updates, if your and advanced user just turn WU off altogether, or at least stop it from downloading anything until you get a chance to scrutinize what's being offered.The advice is contrary to most tech advice, but I might be inclined to agree with the doctor on this one.

  8. #7
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,624
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 526 Times in 475 Posts
    I've always felt that if a Windows update didn't work there's something wrong with the installation so I always take the time to fix it on the PCs that I work on. I agree that an advanced user can get by without windows update but I personally don't think its a good idea. I have managed to keep Windows Update running on all may PCs without much effort, but to each his own.

    Jerry

  9. #8
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,218
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 162 Times in 126 Posts
    Well, if you're a died-in-the-wool MS Fanatic and you trust them explicitly, at the very least, use what they gave you for FREE with every install of Windows..... System Restore..... and make yourself a new restore point, before adding ANYTHING new to your PC.

    And if you're a computer professional, you'll know how to back up your entire C: drive before you accept any new updates.

    I don't trust MS, any further than I could throw a Volkswagen, so I take every precaution against them destroying my OS.
    Especially, since they have made it plain, that they really don't want us running XP any longer. Many thousands of users world wide are not using XP any longer, because an MS update destroyed it and they didn't have a backup.

    Rant, Rant, Rant!

    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

  10. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Bath, UK
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Thanks folks, looks like I have to face up to 'nursing' XP along for the future, and hope the hardware holds up!

    Fortunately I'm an avid 'Acronis Disk Manager' user, and keep offline backups of all family PC's, so no major catastropy.

    I'm obliged to keep XP running, as I have a large investment in a library of music Programs, Instruments and FX which will not run in either Win7 or 64-bit, and a 24-channel i/o soundcard, which will never have Win7 or 64-bit drivers!

    How do I know this?

    I recently bought Win7-64, and have been through a 3 week mill of disappointment.....

    Even the game I bought Win7 for - BF3 - because it insists on Win7 - won't run properly...

    So, no good news from "upgrading" to Win7-64, and it is pretty much the only choice MS gives me, apart from buying Win7 again, in the 32-bit version - oh joy, I think not!!

    Lucky that XP is working nicely!

  11. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA, USA
    Posts
    129
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts
    It might be different in the UK but when I bought Win 7 it came with both the 32-bit and 64-bit install disks in the same box. You can install either one using the same product code.

    I have found programs which are labeled "Windows 7 Compatible" but are really only compatible with the 32-bit version.

    Unless your system has 4+ GB of RAM, there is no point installing the 64-bit version.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •