Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA, USA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Why crash after adding RAM?

    I recently increased the RAM in my Acer Laptop from 4 GB to 8 GB. It booted immediately and all testing indicates that memory is now ~8 GB. However, it has started to crash almost every day. Is there something about Windows 7 that cannot operate with 8 GB of RAM? Is there some Windows update that may be causing this? I am very careful to do a frequent Registry Cleaning that seems to resolve other problems.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Probably you have a faulty DIMM, I would say that is the most likely cause. You can try a memory test, but that is usually slow and not always conclusive. How many RAM sticks did you add? Can you add them not all at once and see if the computer works properly that way?

  3. #3
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    Run something like CPU-Z (the SPD tab) or preferably (since results are on one page) SIW (Click on Hardware then on Memory) to check that both SODIMMs have the same characteristics.
    By that I mean that the Memory Type, Speed and Timings should be the same. If this is not the case, then unhappiness can occur...
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  4. #4
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Run a memory test on it for at least 6 hrs, like memtest86.
    Clean and reseat the memory in their respective dimms. Ensure that there are no metal shavings anywhere.
    Consult the motherboards specs on any specific instruction set when it comes to installing, or adding more memory.
    If you have error in the memtest86, an RMA will be in order.
    Last edited by CLiNT; 2012-03-10 at 21:07.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Or, if you added just 1 DIMM, remove the original DIMM and run with just the new one. If you still see crashes, you definitely have a bad or incompatible DIMM.

    Jerry

  6. #6
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    I've always made it a point when increasing RAM to replace all the old DIMMs. In other words, if I were to increase RAM from 4GB to 8GB, I would order an 8GB matched set in a configuration that will fill all DIMM slots. When that set arrived, I would remove the old RAM and install the 8GB matched set.
    I've never mixed RAM DIMM sets, even from the same manufacturer with the same specs. And I've never had any problems that were RAM related. It's a bit more costly, but I just consider it as insurance.
    YMMV.
    Last edited by bbearren; 2012-03-10 at 09:43.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •