Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    307
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Can't access SharePoint on one computer, can on others

    I have just set up an Office365 account for my office. Although I can access the Office365 portal easily enough, when I click on the Team Site tab, I just get the generic "Internet Explorer can't open the web page" message. Same result when I try to open the company web site hosted by 365. On the other hand, the Home, Outlook, and Admin tabs work just fine. Oddly enough, this problem is limited to my computer. When I try to open the team site or the company web site on any of my associates' computers, I have no problems at all. Because the team site is inaccessible on my computer, that means it is also inaccessible to my Office 2010 programs as well; I am unable to "Save and send" documents to Sharepoint.

    Oddly enough, this afternoon, I had a window of about 30 minutes in which I could access Sharepoint, but then that window shut again, and I'm back where I was. I was hoping that Office365 would help productivity in my office, but so far it is just a big problem. What is it about my computer that could be causing this problem?

    Fafner

    After I posted, I tried logging off and logging on as another user on my computer. In all other user accounts, I can access these pages, but still not in my main user account. This is of course also the only account in which Sharepoint is set up on the desktop to sync with Office365. Are there some settings somewhere that I am missing? And if its a Sharepoint issue, why can I not even access the company web site?
    Last edited by Fafner; 2012-03-09 at 14:19. Reason: Edited to add additional information

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,414
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 597 Times in 534 Posts
    Have you tried adding the site to your "Trusted sites"?

    Joe

  4. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    307
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Thanks for your reply, Joe. Yes, that was one of the first things I thought of, but it didn't help. But there are further developments after I posted the edited version of my first post. I shut IE and attended to some other tasks. When I went back to the site, I was able to connect. Thinking that things had corrected themselves, I spent some time configuring the Team Site, and I also was able to save a document from my desktop Word to the Sharepoint site. After about an hour, I navigated from the Team Site tab to the Outlook tab, checked on mail, and then again clicked the Team Site tab. No access! just the familiar "Internet explorer can't open the web site." I closed IE, opened it again, and tried opening my company web site. Also no access. I logged off, logged on as Adminstrator, and tried to open the site. Still no access. Finally, I restarted the computer, logged on to my regular user account, and now I am able to open the team site. During all of this, I didn't change any security settings or other settings. Access just seems to be sporadic. I sure could use a few clues.

    Fafner

  5. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,414
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 597 Times in 534 Posts
    Do you use any proxy server?

    Have you tried clearing your TIF? Have you tried adjusting the size of the TIF?

    Do you have another browser you can try?

    Joe

  6. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    307
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    No, I don't use a proxy server. I have cleared my temporary internet files several times, but it had no effect. It's currently set at 250 MB. Should I make it larger or smaller? (I also checked the TIF size of other machines on my office network that have no trouble accessing the site, and they are also at 250.) I don't have another browser on this machine. One of the other machines (a Linux box) has FF, but as I say, all other machines never have this trouble. But it doesn't seem to be IE related since, even with the browser closed, sometimes I can access the sharepoint site with the Save and Send function in Word and other Office programs, and sometimes I can't. It doesn't seem that that behavior would change if I installed and tried another browser. I, too, thought at first that this problem was IE-related, but now I'm not so sure. (As for Save and Send to Sharepoint, what happens if I don't have access is that the document stays in the Office Upload Center until the next random time that access is available, and then it uploads. So at least I have some functionality.)

    Fafner

  7. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,414
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 597 Times in 534 Posts
    If it is only your user account on the one PC that is having a problem maybe your profile is corrupted.

    Joe

  8. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    307
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    No, it's not just my user account. I admit that my narrative in my earlier post is a little hard to follow, but I had access problems with all my user accounts on this computer. I can now report that I have apparantly made further progress. Over the weekend, the periods of no access becamse shorter and fewer, and for the last 12 hours I have had no access problems at all. Maybe I have self-healing software -- what a great concept! Anyway, if I'm lucky, that's the end of my problems. But I'd sure love to know what caused the problem in the first place.

    Fafner

  9. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    California
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    You can try this to see if it helps. Go to your Network Connections area in Control Panel. Right click your LAN>properties>Internet Protocol TCP/IP>Advanced Tab. Make sure their are no DNS Suffixes applied. Or you can compare the settings with the good working computer/account to the one not working and see if the settings differ.

    other stuff to try: open cmd prompt> IPconfig /flushdns.

    Good luck.

  10. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    307
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Thanks for your reply, trinh4life. As I noted in my earlier post (on March 11), the problem has resolved itself with no input from me. The periods of no access became shorter and fewer, and eventually they went away and I have had complete access since then. But, out of curiosity, I will take the steps that you suggest, just to see what the settings are. Incidentally, so far I am finding Office365 a terrific resource. It's my first experience with SharePoint, so there was a little learning involved, but I'm very pleased with the capabilities.

    Fafner

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •