Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Printer stopped working for no apparent reason

    I apologize in advance for how disorganized this post will probably be. I recently got a new PC, with Win 7 on it, which is new to me. I have had it for a month, and a week or two ago I noticed that the printer was no longer working - I don't use it that much, so I can't say exactly *when* it stopped working, but I *do* know that it did work when I first got the new system. This makes me wonder if a Windows Update hosed things at some point. BTW, I am running Win 7 Home Premium SP1.

    Anyway, the actual problem is that every time I try to print now, the printer "uh-oh" box pops up in the middle of the screen and says "Printer not reponding". If I am not trying to print but just click on the little printer icon in the lower right task bar, I get the same box and the same msg. I remember having this problem periodically with the Toshiba laptop (with Windows Vista) that I had before I got this hot new system, but I could usually power-cycle the printer and get it to come back online and print. And it certainly was not totally dead as it now is with the new Win 7 system.

    I have researched this a good deal on the net. I have re-started the Print Spooler Service, ran the Hardware Troubleshooter (which didn't help because it couldn't find a printer). This printer, a Kodak 5100 All-in-One, was set as default printer. The Kodak site told me to run the "Kodak Printer Setup Utility", which I did. It failed to find the printer...so much for that. Next, I un-installed all the Kodak software, then downloaded the latest version, with drivers, all of which was newer than what I had. When it was done installing the software, it went thru the printer detection sequence, and failed to find the printer just like its older version had.

    I read in several places that I should delete the printer and re-add it, so I tried this. I was unable to re-add the printer, though, because the Kodak software can't find it - perhaps deleting it was not the wisest thing to do...oh well. I am dead in the water now because Windows is supposed to automaticcally detect a USB printer when it is connected (isn't it ?), and it doesn't find mine.

    BTW, the printer itself works...I just used it earlier tonight as a phot-copier. I have also tried several different USB ports, both front and back of the system case (no hubs or extenders here). I had finally decided that the cable was the only thing I could think of that was left, since the printer itself does actually work. Then it occurred to me to dig out the cheap Toshiba laptop that this hot new system replaced and try it with the printer...after all, it worked before. So I connected it back up to the Toshiba laptop, and it won't work on it, either, now. Boggle !!!!

    I decided that this was incontrovertible evidence that the printer cable was the culprit, so I bought a new one, connected it, and.....nothing. Still won't detect the printer with the new cable attached!! Double boggle !!!

    Now I'm completely bumfuzzled. I am a veteran problem solver and trouble-shooter. I remember in my old programming days, running a hardware debugger and tracing DOS interrupts through the OS code, and now I can't figure out what's wrong with a printer? Sheesh....

    Sorry for this wall of text. I can certainly afford to buy a new printer, but this is driving me nutters and I want to figure it out. Any and all input will be appreciated!!

  2. Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,203
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 212 Times in 199 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cmacord View Post
    I can certainly afford to buy a new printer, but this is driving me nutters and I want to figure it out. Any and all input will be appreciated!!
    cmacord,
    Hello..and Welcome to the Lounge...It might take a bit ..But I'm sure we can get this figured out ..

    1. If you go to Control Panel\Hardware and Sound\Devices and Printers\Your Printer... Right click on "Your Printer ">Select Printer> Security Tab ...Make sure that you have "Permission" to Print. Also while there check the other "Tab's" while your at it ...Maybe a clue Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  4. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for your reply, but I do not have a Control Panel applet titled "Hardware". I have a "Sound" and also a "Devices and Printers". Am I not reading your reply correctly ? I have Windows 7 Home Premium SP1.

  5. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,203
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 212 Times in 199 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cmacord View Post
    Thanks for your reply, but I do not have a Control Panel applet titled "Hardware". I have a "Sound" and also a "Devices and Printers". Am I not reading your reply correctly ? I have Windows 7 Home Premium SP1.
    cmacord,
    Hello... Depends how you have your Control Panel setup... Category or Icons ... I posted some Screen Shots that will help... Regards Fred

    PS : these Screen Shots are on my Windows "7 \ 64"
    Attached Images Attached Images
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  6. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you so much....I understand now, and did what you said. The problem is that, under Printers and Faxes, all I have is "Fax". This is because, as I said in my initial post, one of the suggestions that I tried was to delete the printer and then re-add it. I deleted the printer, but was unable to re-add it because the Kodak software cannot find it, and Windows does not auto-detect it on boot *or* when I connect it. This is the core of why I am so stymied. If both Kodak's software and Windows itself cannot detect the printer, I am seeing a brick wall. It has been tested with a known good cable as well as with the old laptop that it used to work on. I was advised to reset it, which I have done (unless there is an actual Reset Button somewhere that I am not aware of). That is why I am calling for help, because I am totally at a dead stop.

    Thanks again for trying to help

  7. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,203
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 212 Times in 199 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cmacord View Post
    (unless there is an actual Reset Button somewhere that I am not aware of). That is why I am calling for help, because I am totally at a dead stop.

    cmacord,
    As a try i would try and completely remove any traces of "Kodak's Software", and try to re-install as a "Administrator" .You can use this Free Search tool after doing a conventional "Un-Install"..Using... CCleaner, Revo, Windows ,etc.Ultra File Search I seem to remember some problems with Windows 7 and printers ...I'll have a look around ...Perhaps another lounger will remember ..It's past my bedtime and need some sleep...Look into it tomorrow.... Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  8. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    852
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 56 Times in 56 Posts
    OK, you've had the printer functioning as a photocopier, that only proves that part of the unit is working, not the PC side.

    You've also tried it on two different computers using 2 different cables.

    And you mentioned that there were intermittent problems before.

    Does Windows make the usual USB connect sound when you plug the printer into any of the PCs? If not I'm pretty certain that the printer has died or needs some form of factory reset.

  9. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Browni View Post
    Does Windows make the usual USB connect sound when you plug the printer into any of the PCs? If not I'm pretty certain that the printer has died or needs some form of factory reset.
    Nope.

  10. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    917
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
    maybe the USB port on the printer has failed if it won't be detected on 2 different computers as it unlikely 2 computers would have faulty USB ports. If the printer is still under warrantee then I would RMA it.
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •