New Lounger
    Thanks

Norton 360 Outrageous message!

I have been using Norton 360 for a few years. This time, I have decided to let my subscription run out to see what would happen.
    I always thought that you bought the software and that you paid for an update subscription. However, the warning I got was a bit different.

Like the report, the form had four zones
    1. PC Security - At Risk! - You are not protected against threats. Please renew your subscription.
    2. Identity Protection - At Risk! - Your transactions are not secure. Please...
    3. Backup - At Risk! - Backup cannot run. Please... You can restore your files for a limited time only, after which your backed-up data will be deleted.
    4. PC Tuneups cannot run. Please...

I could not believe #3! Not only does the software become useless when the subscription expires except for an unspecified limited time but it will stay active enough to carry-out its mischief!

If I had not already purchased another copy for the next year I don't think I would have renewed. I dont like the idea of Norton destroying the data on my NAS drives. The data is mine! The device storage device is mine!

Other than that, the software has worked resaonably well, giving only the odd false positive for certain types of software like a window serial retrieval application. I have not used the Identity protection; would Norton publicise my passwords if I did not renew?

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Probably that was written somewhere when you bought the software, that is access to your backups. I don't think Norton would publicize any passwords. They would surely be breaking a few laws if they did that.

mart44
    I wonder if number 3 might only be referring to their own online storage as mentioned under the heading 'Backup and Restore' in this page?

http://uk.norton.com/360/