Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: Shutting down

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lullington
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Shutting down

    There must be a better way to Shut Down than to have to go back to the Metro screen from the Desktop then revert to the opening screen then click on my name then shut down. Can anyone suggest quick ways to shut down?

  2. #2
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lullington
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Just spotted the other thread about this but none of the methods seems to work for me : When I go to C:\users, there's no USERID (or am I doing something wrong again). Command line won't let me type in it. Shutdown exe. : how do I get to it?

    On the other hand, I used the Settings Power button which is far better.

  3. #3
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    Paul,

    Win+I & Clk the Power button.

    > Charms > Settings > Power button.


    You should look @ Keyboard Shortcuts & Navigation Tips
    http://windows8forums.com/windows-8-...shortcuts.html

    Cheers,
    Drew

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Add Shutdown and Restart shortcuts to your desktop:

    Shutdown:

    Right click empty spot on desktop and select New, Shortcut

    Type the following in the Window that pops up:

    ShutdownShortcut.jpg

    Select Next

    Call this shortcut something like Shutdown.

    This will put a Shutdown shortcut on your desktop.

    Restart:

    Follow the same steps except type: C:\Windows\System32\shutdown.exe /r /t 0

    Notice there is only one character difference.

    To make the icons look nicer, right click and select Properties, Change Icon and follow the prompts.

    These icons can be kept on the desktop or placed on the Taskbar.

    You can even modify this procedure slightly to place tiles on the Metro Start Menu
    Last edited by Medico; 2012-03-12 at 05:29.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lullington
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The shortcut idea didn't work : error message that it cannot find the C:\Windows\System32\shutdown.exe /s /t 0 except that it systematically reverse the front slash to a backslash despite me typing correctly a forward slash before the s.

    The WIN + I shortcut works a treat!

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Did you leave a blank space before the forward slash? I have used this repeatedly as have many others. Very strange! There is a blank space before both forward slashes and before the 0.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #7
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 205 Times in 163 Posts
    When I give that shutdown shortcut to any forum, I stress..... DO NOT TYPE the command.
    COPY & PASTE it. Every jot and tittle, space or no space is critical to the operation of the command.
    The time to shutdown at the end should be two zero's, not just one.

    So, COPY & PASTE this blue line into a desktop shortcut and you'll have it.

    %windir%\System32\shutdown.exe -s -t 00 -f

    If you put the shutdown icon in the far left end of the taskbar, it will be just a one-click shutdown.
    It works great for me!
    Here's my Desktop, with my 16 year old MahJongg game on the screen and my Shutdown icon in the
    lower left corner.

    That was a great game. I think that was the one I WON in just under two minutes.

    Win-8's backward compatibility with OLD 16 bit programs is amazing.

    Cheers Mates!
    The Doctor

    PS: I'm changing this OS daily, so at the end of each day, I make a Ghost Backup of my C: partition.
    I've got too much time invested in this thing to loose it now. Refer to my signature line.
    Last edited by DrWho; 2012-03-12 at 10:52.
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lullington
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks - that worked.

  9. #9
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    Paul,

    Sounds as if you like Win+I lots better than what you knew before

    Do the Restart button, too. usually want to do that more often than Shutdown, so nicest to have both. I put mine on Quick Launch.

    Cheers,
    Drew

  10. #10
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,798
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Also, you can just tap the power button on your PC or laptop. It should be set by default to do a shut down.

    Jerry

  11. #11
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    Jerry,

    Not really a good idea to shut down that way. &, also, still misses the more frequent need for Restart.

    Drew

  12. #12
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,798
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Why is it not a good idea? As long as you don't hold down the power button for over 3 seconds, you get an orderly shut down.

    Jerry

  13. #13
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    Mistook what you were saying/meaning, @ 1st.

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    DrWho line and the original I supplied point to the same place. They will both work equally effectively.

    Shutdown:

    C:\Windows\System32\shutdown.exe /s /t 0

    Restart:

    C:\Windows\System32\shutdown.exe /r /t 0

    The only difference in the 2 commands is the character in red.

    Just copy and paste as DrWho states. That way you will not make any typing mistakes. These are the exact commands I used to produce the Shutdown and Restart icons you see below:

    ShutdownRestartDesktop.jpg

    Desktop Icons

    ShutdownRestartMetro.jpg

    Metro Icons
    Last edited by Medico; 2012-03-12 at 18:12.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  15. #15
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    Great to have these & 'right there' (instead of (only) Power button).

    Drew

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •