Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts

    Another View on Win8 - Echos of Ted & Myself


  2. The Following User Says Thank You to Drew1903 For This Useful Post:

    rmonroe36 (2012-03-12)

  3. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    With a little time and customization, it's very easy to make WIn 8 CP work the way you want it to work. I have been working in Win 8 CP almost exclusively since it was released. This OS is very slick. The Desktop, IMHO, is ready to go, at least for the average person. On the other hand, it appears most of the work still to be done will be on the Metro UI, which many of us will not be spending the majority of our time in anyway. As the new devices, especially touch screen tablets, become more prevalent, perhaps the Metro UI will take on a more prominent role, but I would suspect not so much in my life, but who knows what might happen.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Fishkill, New York, USA
    Posts
    435
    Thanks
    96
    Thanked 35 Times in 31 Posts
    I must admit that initially I was turned off with Windows 8 DP - to the extent that I took it right off and said to my friends "I'll wait for the beta". With use and the help of this forum, I now find myself enjoying Windows 8 CP to the extent that I have been booting up into it more than Windows 7. You might say that I have done a "180". Thanks again to all for sharing.

    Rich

  5. #4
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    Ride on, Rich. We are hearing a lot of similar (180) stories as yours. Suspect there will be lots more, too.

    Drew

  6. #5
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 205 Times in 163 Posts
    WELL, I'm not ready to make it my MAIN OS, and probably never will, but at least with some help from this forum, I'm finding ways to open the secret panels, trap doors and hidden passages.
    I suspect that MS has hired some Chinese programmers, because Win-8 is certainly a Chinese Block Puzzle. Eh?

    Who would have ever thought, that you could just type RUN at the metro screen, even though there is no box to type it in, and then hit Enter and you'd be instantly taken to the Desktop with the RUN box opened, just like in XP? Gee! That's so cool!
    But why hide something so basic to the operation of windows.??? I would have given it prominence, somewhere!

    Shutdown was a real pain in the pants, till I installed my Quick Shutdown shortcut in the Task Bar on the Desktop screen.
    Now, it's just one click to shut down Win-8. Currently, taking about ten seconds to power off!

    Moving right along............
    Last edited by DrWho; 2012-03-12 at 11:11.
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

  7. #6
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    I guess I don't see all the angst with Windows 8 shutdown. Just hit the PC or Laptop power button for an orderly shutdown.

    Jerry

  8. #7
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    Not really the ideal way to shut down, Jerry.

    Drew

  9. #8
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Why??? It gives you an orderly shut down as long as you don't hold the power button down for over 3 seconds. Restart is a different issue.

    Jerry

  10. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    737
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 64 Times in 52 Posts
    A brief press of the power button is perfectly acceptable since at least WinXp SP2, and using hardware that interfaces with Windows Power Management. Windows accepts it as a shut down command the same as clicking the shutdown button.
    Chuck

  11. #10
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    Mistook what you were saying/meaning, @ 1st.

  12. #11
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Hey DrWho if you are on the Desktop and type Win Key + X the Power Users Menu also has a run and search function right from the Desktop. Run open a box you will be very familiar with, Search opens the Metro search. And yes, typing anything anywhere in the Metro screen will search for corresponding words, files or folders I would assume.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  13. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Ted, while I have your attention, can you tell me what these are ?

    Adapters.jpg

    There is just the one adapter here, the middle one. They might be W-8 servants.

  14. #13
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I haven't a clue. They must be something in your PC. Here are mine. The only common adapter, which I suspect is a Windows thing is the MS Kernel Debug Network Adapter. The others are actually on my PC.

    Network Adapters.jpg
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  15. #14
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    The Via Rhine III is a chipset Ethernet adapter on your motherboard. You apparently have this one as well as a PCI adapter you added. See:
    http://www.via.com.tw/en/products/ne...hine/vt6106sl/

    You might want to disable one but they probably both will work.

    Jerry

  16. #15
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Ted and Jerry, good morning.
    Thanks for your reply. I will investigate this extra 10/100. I do not remember seeing two RJ-45 ports, my added card and the VIA Rhine. Later ! JP.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •