Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Marietta, Georgia, USA
    Posts
    235
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Acronis True Image backups - File size BLOAT

    I recently restored my wife's PC to her original Windows / Programs setup from a year ago. The Acronis Image file that I used was 8.3 GB in size.

    Before I did this "Windows reinstall", her weekly Acronis Image file was 13.1 GB in size. I spent a few hours downloading critical updates, rebooting and installing her new programs (new since the original image was created a year earlier).

    Then I saved a new Acronis Image file, which was only 8.7 GB in size. I am mystified why the file size had grown to be 13.1 GB.

    I just looked at the Acronis image files for my desktop PC and laptop PC, and they show a similar pattern:

    Desktop PC
    03/11/2012 weekly backup image file size is 17.6 GB
    12/04/2011 "Original Windows / Programs" image file size is 13.3 GB

    Laptop PC
    02/26/2012 weekly backup image file size is 14.7 GB
    02/28/20101 "Original Windows / Programs" image file size is 7.2 GB

    I am curious - anyone else had a similar experience with "image bloat" for Acronis True Image backups?

    I use Acronis True Image 2010, build 7046. All three computers are running Windows 7 64 bit.
    Rick Groszkiewicz
    Life is too short to drink bad wine (or bad coffee!)

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 929 Times in 851 Posts
    I'm surprised it only increased by that much in a year. It's not Acronis bloat. It's because of increases in the size and number of the files on your PC that Acronis had to Image. An Image of only 13 GB is actually rather small. My Acronis Images are around 25 GB. I have heard of some much larger than that.

    How many apps have you added in the time since the original image was created? How much data was added? What compression level did you use in creating the Image file ? I think you answered your own question here:

    Quote Originally Posted by rgrosz View Post
    I spent a few hours downloading critical updates, rebooting and installing her new programs (new since the original image was created a year earlier).
    Creating a new Image once per month can save a lot of time when you restore to that Image. When I restore to an Image, it takes me about 10 mins because my Images are kept up to date. I might have to reinstall the latest WU (this might take an extra min) but that's it. Since my data is on a separate partition my restoration does not affect my data at all. Whenever I add an app (or delete an app) I create a new Image so it includes that change. So instead of spending a few hours updating after restoring to the Image, I spend perhaps 10 to 15 mins. Quite a difference.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Marietta, Georgia, USA
    Posts
    235
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    I'm surprised it only increased by that much in a year. It's not Acronis bloat. It's because of increases in the size and number of the files on your PC that Acronis had to Image. An Image of only 13 GB is actually rather small. My Acronis Images are around 25 GB. I have heard of some much larger than that.
    This is ONLY the Windows files plus her programs. I don't bother to image the other data partitions, those are just copied to the external backup drive.

    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    1. How many apps have you added in the time since the original image was created?
    2. How much data was added?
    3. What compression level did you use in creating the Image file ?
    1. She does not add many new programs - there were only three new ones that I had to install. As I mentioned, the net effect of reflecting a year's worth of program installs and critical updates barely increased the Acronis Image file (from 8.1 GB to 8.7 GB).

    2. NO data files were added.

    3. I use HIGH compression, since the backups run at 3 AM

    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    Creating a new Image once per month can save a lot of time when you restore to that Image. When I restore to an Image, it takes me about 10 mins because my Images are kept up to date. I might have to reinstall the latest WU (this might take an extra min) but that's it. Since my data is on a separate partition my restoration does not affect my data at all. Whenever I add an app (or delete an app) I create a new Image so it includes that change. So instead of spending a few hours updating after restoring to the Image, I spend perhaps 10 to 15 mins. Quite a difference.
    Ted, I do exactly the same thing as you. I help several other people with Acronis who insist on storing all data and programs on drive C. It gets messy when you restore from last year's backup, and have to (VERY carefully) restore all the data files afterwards!

    I create full Acronis image backups for all machines on my network every week. I only image the C: drive, with Windows and Programs. All data files are stored on partitions E:, F:, etc.

    Everything gets copied to an external SATA drive every week. It only takes me about 15 minutes to restore a prior image.
    Rick Groszkiewicz
    Life is too short to drink bad wine (or bad coffee!)

  5. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,381
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 595 Times in 532 Posts
    What version of Windows? What service pack? Is it up-to-date with patches?

    Do you clean up the disk drive occasionally?

    Joe

  6. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,203
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 212 Times in 199 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rgrosz View Post

    I am curious - anyone else had a similar experience with "image bloat" for Acronis True Image backups?

    I use Acronis True Image 2010, build 7046.
    rgrosz,
    Hello... I have some experience with this (bloat) in testing OS's. For several years i maintained several test OS's no MS patches or MS updates, vs The same system's with all MS patches or MS Updates.. All had essentially the same programs and done on the same PC (multi boot) My results were the OS's (Vista and "7" ) that had all MS patches and Updates had about 3GB of who knows what added to the overall size.. This had nothing to do with Acronis ...as i also use " 2010 7046" and have done hundreds of backups.. As of now i have decided that patching your OS's ( that are working and stable) is looking to shoot yourself in the foot. I use my own mix of security Norton NIS 2012 and Malwarebytes Pro, on my multi boot box. So far for now... i have experienced no bloat on any of them ..."cause" i don't do MS patches or updates... Just my 2¢ ...Helmet affixed ..Let the screaming begin Regards Fred
    Last edited by Just Plain Fred; 2012-03-15 at 08:47.
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  7. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,176
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 1,139 Times in 1,050 Posts
    The figures that need to be compared are those the size of the disk occupied space and not what Acronis uses. Acronis will add nothing to the image file on its own.

  8. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 929 Times in 851 Posts
    Sorry, but you did say the Image was a year old and you spent a few hours downloading updates and installing apps. This led me to believe she had many new apps that contributed to this "bloat" you describe. Also an Image a year old will definitely take a long time to restore to up to date.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  9. #8
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,058
    Thanks
    196
    Thanked 765 Times in 699 Posts
    Rick,

    It could also be caused by temporary internet files depending on the settings for the system caches. If she does a lot of surfing especially of picture and video loaded sites and the TEMP area are not regularly cleaned they can accomulate a lot of junk over the course of a year. There are other junk collection areas like the Outlook.pst file, if you use Outlook, if she gets a lot of email and doesn't clean her folders and compact the file it will just grow and grow. It all adds up in the end. I just sayin'.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  10. #9
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,203
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 212 Times in 199 Posts
    "Geekster"

    Good point ..about the .tmp files.... He should check This option (Screen Shot) However the bloat is caused by " MS Patches and Updates".. I have proved this several times on several OS"s Regards Fred
    Attached Images Attached Images
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  11. #10
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,058
    Thanks
    196
    Thanked 765 Times in 699 Posts
    Fred,

    Good Point also!
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  12. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Marietta, Georgia, USA
    Posts
    235
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    What version of Windows? What service pack? Is it up-to-date with patches?

    Do you clean up the disk drive occasionally?

    Joe
    Windows 7 64 bit Home, with SP1 and all critical updates applied automatically. For "system cleanup, I run CCleaner about once per quarter.
    Rick Groszkiewicz
    Life is too short to drink bad wine (or bad coffee!)

  13. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Marietta, Georgia, USA
    Posts
    235
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Just Plain Fred View Post
    "Geekster"

    Good point ..about the .tmp files.... He should check This option (Screen Shot) However the bloat is caused by " MS Patches and Updates".. I have proved this several times on several OS"s Regards Fred
    It sounds plausible that this could be caused by both LOTS of temp files, as well as "MS Patches and Updates".
    Rick Groszkiewicz
    Life is too short to drink bad wine (or bad coffee!)

  14. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Image Created in Acronis 2010 gets bloated

    Hi there!

    Anyone here encountered this issue. Last week, I have this original image which only has 15GB file size. I made an update on it (windows updates, and patches) which increased the disk space used to 17GB. When i re-created the image it took about an hour to create it and it shows the file is 126GB which is about 8 times bigger. Any idea why this would happen? How can this be corrected? By the way, i have Windows XP SP3 and Office 2003.

    Any help is highly appreciated.
    Thanks,
    AMiableron
    Last edited by amiableron; 2012-04-19 at 10:45.

  15. #14
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,058
    Thanks
    196
    Thanked 765 Times in 699 Posts
    AMiableron,

    I just checked my last Image taken with Acronis 2010 and it shows 38Gb in size where the two partitions {System & Data} total 59Gb of used space. I use Normal compression when taking my backups and ALWAYS do it from the Boot Disk NOT while running windows!
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  16. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Lounge VIP. Yes, i checked the disk size which i am sure that it only has one partition (System & Data) which shows 17GB. I tried to go back to Acronis and re-creating the image and on the bottom side of the image show Size to backup : 16.61GB. I also tried to look for any compression that i might be able to use in backing up but nothing in there. Any other suggestion?


    Thank,
    amiableron

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •