Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: Windows 8 test

  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    453
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Windows 8 test

    My OS Windows 7 Pro. has virtual PC XP mode.Could I use this to test Win8 CP without affecting my other installed
    version of Windows? If so, how do I go about it.
    Many thanks
    Dave

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    The Windows Secrets newsletter has a step by step guide written by Fred Langa for using Virtual Box to try Win 8 CP. I'm wondering if this might be a better alternative than XP Mode. I have never use XP Mode and was under the impression it was designed for XP only, but perhaps this was only my impression.

    I found in my own attempts during Win 8 DP that my speed took a hit because using a VM I had to share available resources between the host machine (I had Win 7 as well) and Win 8 DP (At that time I had 4 GB RAM). I therefore decided to set up a dual boot instead and got much better operational use out of it.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    Dave,

    The point here, (regarding your query) is not, XP Mode, but, rather VPC... & if you have XP Mode, you have VPC. Ergo you create a vhd, a virtual machine in Windows VPC & install Windows8 on it.

    Aside from the above, dual-boot approach which, Ted mentioned, is a great way to go!!

    Cheers,
    Drew

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    OK, so I guess the answer is you can. See how easy that was. So I guess XP Mode is another VM like VB or VPC or whatever, cool. I don't like doing it because of the performance hit although now with 8 GB Ram I suppose I would not take nearly the hit I did with only 4 GB. I also always had problems networking, but that;s another story not worth getting into here.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    Well, technically XP is a VM, Virtual Machine, created in or running under Windows VPC (Virtual PC). & other VMs can be added, still, w/in Windows VPC. You can, also, create/build VMs using VirtualBox, VMware, etc.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,568
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    I don't think that Virtual PC supports Windows 8 as a guest OS.

    See [http://blogs.msdn.com/b/virtual_pc_g...alization.aspx]Running Windows 8 in Microsoft Virtualization[/url]. Note: this post applies to the Developer Preview but I can find nothing indicating anything is different for the Consumer Preview.

    Joe

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    737
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 64 Times in 52 Posts
    Just use VirtualBox and call it day. Much, much better than Windows VPC. I'm running Windows 8 32 bit (1GB of RAM allocated) on a Win 7 32 bit machine with 4GB of RAM (3.24 GB useable) at work and both are running just fine.
    Chuck

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    460
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
    The biggest performance hit with a VM comes from running it on the same drive as the host OS if using a mechanical drive. Helps a lot if you can install it on a second SATA 3 drive. Get it on a SATA 3 SSD and performance issues are very minimal to non-existent even with minimal RAM assignment because the virtual pagefile is so darn fast in and of itself.

  9. #9
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    Joe, I knew the DP would not run on VPC... silly me, thought that would change w/ the Beta. It will run under VMware or VirtualBox. But, dual-boot is an option & so is this, which, I had, also, mentioned, as another approach, http://blog.concurrency.com/infrastr...windows-setup/

    Drew]

  10. #10
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    453
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks to you all for all the advice.
    I will give that idea a miss.
    Dave

  11. #11
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    Personally, dual-boot is a great way & so straight-forward to accomplish.

    Drew

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to Drew1903 For This Useful Post:

    DaveBRenn (2012-03-16)

  13. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    453
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Drew
    My system only has 2.5GB RAM, could I use dual boot?
    Thanks
    Dave

  14. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,568
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveBRenn View Post
    Hi Drew
    My system only has 2.5GB RAM, could I use dual boot?
    Thanks
    Dave
    Since you will only be running one OS at at time RAM is not a limiting factor for dual boot.

    Joe

  15. #14
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    As Joe indicated, yes, it presents no issue or problem... W/ dual-boot, either OS used would, in your case, be using the that same 2.5GB. You are not assigning RAM from a host machine to a VM.

    This is another good aspect of going dual-boot.

    Drew

  16. #15
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I have been running a dual boot since Win 8 DP was first released and continued into Win 8 CP. I have been using Win 8 CP almost exclusively since it's release. I originally tried Win 8 DP in a VM and quite honestly did not like it at all. The performance hit was bad, and I had 4 GB. You only have 2.5 GB, forgetdaboutit! Set up the dual boot and enjoy yourself.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •