Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Logmein no longer works

    Let me preface this by saying I have asked Logmein and they were unable to assist and their support engineer eventually just stopped replying to me.

    So, I've long been a user of LMI and only the free version. I've used it to connect to my home PC and also to remote connect to the charity server & PC's that I support. However, from my place of work I can no longer access the remote machines - however a colleague that has a similar setup can so this isn't a corporate firewall issue.

    At first I thought it was the fact that I've built my home PC to be a Win7 setup and it was something to do with that. Then I thought it was my change of ISP via BT Infinity and one of their HomeHubs. Then I thought it was to do with since my ISP change I no longer connect to the router (homehub) via a fixed wire but via wifi.

    Then I discovered I can't access the charity setup and apart from having had a new server nothing else at their end has changed. LMI won't admit to anything at their end and say LMI should work with wifi and Win7 but ...

    So two questions really ....

    1. Does anyone have an answer or suggestion to my LMI woes? or

    2. Is there a recommended alternative?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 932 Times in 853 Posts
    I would take a look at Team Viewer. Have heard nothing but good about it for remote access.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I would take a look at
    Team Viewer
    . Have heard nothing but good about it for remote access.
    Many thanks Ted.

    I had wondered about switching just my only experience has ever been with LMI. Will check Teamviewer out.

  4. #4
    Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,168
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 134 Times in 115 Posts
    Long standing Logmein user here. No issues on Windows 7, or earlier versions. No issues with wired or wireless and in the past I ran on BT before switching to a different ISP for a better price.

    Can your work colleague access both machines? Can you access the charity machine from home? I suspect the issue is with the Logmein installation on the remote system. Perhaps a firewall issue or security setting. Maybe Logmein has been disabled on the remote system?

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    As ever I probably wasn't clear enough and certainly left out some info My colleague doesn't access the same machines as me - I mention him purely to show that LMI works for him from the same LAN.

    I might agree about a dodgy install except that I have re-installed several times now including going through a complete uninstall and CLI install to force it to use a different port. However the info I left out is that once I'm outside of work I can access the charity setup with no issues.

    I've spoken with my colleague and he assures me he's done nothing different to me so that leaves me completely stumped. I too have been a long time LMI user and until now with no issues.

  6. #6
    Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,168
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 134 Times in 115 Posts
    Ok, that narrows it down a bit. Since you can access machines from outside of the office, it suggests that the issue is on your work network.

    There could be several reasons why that may be inaccessible from a work environment: from group policy settings to router/firewall settings on differing network segments.

    Since you can access from outside of work, I would talk to you IT team, if only to be sure they are happy for you to use TeamViewer as an alternative.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I'm also a long-time user of the free LMI system... over the past several months, they've reduced the number of members a free network can support from 15 to 8 and this week down to 5, which resulted in a number of connections being suspended. Are you managing your LMI stuff via their Web control panel? If you are, you can check the situation there.

  8. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I can't say I've noticed any reduction in the number of clients I can manage but I do use two accounts.

    One for me - so I have the mother in law and my PC on that and then one for the charity - that could be affected. Though ultimately it s only really the one box that requires any regular contact.

    I managed to try TeamViewer the other day and that seems to work just fine at the moment, so LMI has been removed and if needs be I can always double hp to my machine and then on to the server.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,865
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 556 Times in 504 Posts
    I've got 16 LMI clients on one account right now. I did notice a new feature that has a shield icon that will give you the number of pending Windows updates the client has outstanding when you click on it. The client doesn't even need to be logged in.

    Jerry

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Logmein just doesn't work anymore

    @stubbyd
    I have the exact same experience.
    I've been a logmein user since 2003. Used to control my home pc's and Windows Home Server.
    Since a couple of years constant problems. Sometimes it would work with Firefox and the Java plugin, but since a year not at all in neither browsers(IE, Chrome, Firefox)

    I will give teamviewer a try.

    Floris

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Although this thread is over 6 months old, has anyone discovered a resolution to this?
    In my case, my logmein client icon showed an explanation mark and indicated that it could not connect to the logmein server.
    I tried several things and finally decided to un-intall and re-install (in case an update didn't take).
    Anyway, after uninstalling, I find that I can't even connect to the logmein web site. Neither http or https. I can't go directly to the download page either.
    I have three computers on the same LAN (at work) and the other two have no problems connecting to logmein site, and the clients on each machine work fine as well.
    AV indicates no virus on the machine in question.

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    San Carlos, California, USA
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mine is very strange - My Internet Explorer stopped accessing remote PC's on my LMI account on my primary Windows 7 PC. FireFox works flawlessly on this PC. All other computers in my work room whether mine or a customer's, all work and access computers through Internet Explorer. On MY primary PC I have 5 or 6 VMWare virtual machines with varying OS's and versions - Internet Explorer works with Internet Explorer in all of the VM's. Can't be my network then, can't be fire wall. The BIG Q - What is it? Most frustrating indeed!

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I've got a client who can't connect using any browser on her laptop. Turned off her A/V and firewall, but no joy. I could log in to my account and it works fine, and I can log in to her computers just fine from my computer on the same network. Any ideas?

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,131
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 247 Times in 240 Posts
    Sometimes, often even for certain brand names like Norton and McAfee, just turning off is not enough, it needs to be completely removed with each manufacturer's removal tool.

  15. #15
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Guys - can I suggest you start off your own thread rather than digging up my year old thread? It helps to put all pertinent information as to the setup and exactly what your issue is.

    The trouble with MI is that it is free and I don't suppose they really care about supporting it. If we all paid then they'd care and it does make me wonder if the paid for product is any better but it doesn't encourage me to investigate if it is or isn't.

    Anyway, all that said I wish WSForums had a close thread feature as this thread of mine is dead and buried - or should be.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •