New Lounger
    Thanks

Cool Jump to Record (Conditional)

This is my first post. Here's hoping someone here can shed some light and thanks in advance for taking time out to read this and chime in!

I'm a beginner to intermediate study with Access (mainly trying to apply old knowledge to Access 2007) and I'm trying to build a database to track CDs in our branch's collection.

The primary key is the disc number (1 - 4001), which is constant and disabled in the entry form to prevent a user from mucking about with it.

The form and database are built, but there are two pieces of functionality I need in order for it to be "complete" as an application.

I'll just mention the first now so this can be easily found by someone else with a similar issue.

When a new CD is received, we look for an unassigned disc number and go from there. I'd like to create a button which will jump to the first disc number that contains no information (I had thought of an "IF" statement where it searched for the first Disc # where Title is null, but I couldn't quite figure out the syntax of it).

Any thoughts?

Super Moderator
    Thanks
    It isn't really necessary to resort to VBA to do what you want. A group-by query using First on the disk number will give you the lowest empty record if you put the criteria of Is Null on the appropriate information, and you can base your input form on that data set, although it probably won't be updateable. Give it a go and see what success you have. Others my jump in and suggest other alternatives. And welcome to the Windows Secrets Lounge.
    Wendell

3. The Following User Says Thank You to WendellB For This Useful Post:

ConanTheLibrarian (2012-03-22)

New Lounger
    Thanks
    Thanks for the welcome and the input, Wendell.