Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    First word of a line is capitalized

    Solutions refer to going to the tools menu and then autocorrect. However, using MS Word and Wordpad, there is no tools bar at the top. How do I get it?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,970
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 29 Times in 27 Posts
    You don't mention which version of Word you're using, but if you're using Word 2007 or later, the menus have been replaced by the Ribbon. Can't check Word 2007 at the moment, but for Word 2010, go to File > Options > Proofing, and under the Autocorrect options heading, click on the Autocorrect options button - this will display the Autocorrect dialog.

    Gary

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    An easy way to find the location of commands in the ribbon based versions of Office is to download and install the search commands add on. Go to:

    http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/support/office-ribbon-find-commands-FX101851541.aspx#2

    On that page, next to find commands, clict on the version of Office you are using (2007 02020)
    Then click on Search tab download and then the download now link.

    This will install a search command tab in your office apps. Click on it and start typing the command you are looking for and it will show you a list of matching commands to the right of the search box. Hover over the command to get a tool tip detailing the location of the command or click on it to go directly there.

    Jerry

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger Charles Kenyon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    2,049
    Thanks
    124
    Thanked 119 Times in 116 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sage1 View Post
    Solutions refer to going to the tools menu and then autocorrect. However, using MS Word and Wordpad, there is no tools bar at the top. How do I get it?
    Word is supposed to start each sentence (paragraph) with a capital out of the box. If it is doing this to each line, that means that you are using the Enter key to end lines rather than setting your margins and letting Word wrap your lines for you automatically. See Rules for Typing in Word or Why you should by not press Enter at the end of every line Shauna Kelly.
    Charles Kyle Kenyon
    Madison, Wisconsin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •