Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Skelmersdale, Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    256
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

    Win 8 CP Installation

    I've just run thre Windows8-ConsumerPreview-setup.exe, which assessed my PC then downloaded an installation that was tailored to my hardware.
    I don't want to install it over Win 7 x64, my current OS, so I chose 'Later' when the install options appeared, with the intention of using a spare HDD I have.
    I got no further info from the preview setup, which just closed, so I searched for an .iso file, but all I could find was a WindowsESD folder on my C: drive that seemed to be appropriate. How can I use this to install from scratch on a fresh HDD? Can I burn a bootable DVD from it?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I believe this just loaded a setup file on your PC that would download and install Win 8 CP directly into your Win 7 installation thus overwriting your Win 7 installation. That is definitely not what you want to do.

    Go to this site to download the official iso file
    , then burn it to DVD. Use this DVD to Custom install to choose where to install Win 8 CP.
    Last edited by Medico; 2012-03-31 at 07:32.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    NY state
    Posts
    229
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 23 Times in 22 Posts
    Also when you burn DVD select a write speed of 4X or less to prevent errors. That worked best with Windows 7 releases. Burning faster caused errors.
    Joe

  4. #4
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    If, you just use the Burn Image in Windows7 the result will be correct.

    Drew

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Skelmersdale, Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    256
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
    In the end I used a spare HDD i had and copied an image of my Win7 system to it, including the downloaded folder for W8.
    What a waste of time, when I ran the update it said do you want to keep your old system details, which I declined, andit then loaded W8 OK.
    I'd have been better off taking Teds advice and downl;oading the basic iso.

    You live and learn.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    We all learn these things the hard way at one time or another. Then we say to ourselves, next time I'm gonna do this the easy way! Glad you got things worked out.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •