Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Lancashire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    264
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    A quick question? - Shutdown?

    I installed the beta preview yesterday updating a test Windows 7 PC. Apart from the (to me) horrible Metro front end and the lack of immediate access to all my apps, I have one - to me - fundamental question.

    Where has Shutdown gone? It used to be under the "Start" button (OK, I know that's weird, but it's been there for ages).

    The only way I could shut my system down was to find out how to log off (which, in itself, was hard to work out) and then there was a button at the bottom right of the screen.

    But that is so counter intuitive, there must be a better/easier way.

    Alan

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I could not quickly find the other thread so I just pasted this here. Just add Shutdown, Restart and Log Off shortcuts to your desktop or taskbar.

    Here's how:

    Right click an empty spot on the desktop and select New, Shortcut

    Copy and Paste the following in the Window that pops up:

    Shutdown:

    C:\Windows\System32\shutdown.exe -s -t 00 -f

    Restart:

    C:\Windows\System32\shutdown.exe -r -t 00 -f

    The only difference in the 2 commands is the character in red.

    Click Next and Name the shortcuts Shutdown and Restart. Real original, huh!

    Click Finish. Right click and choose properties and change icon to select a nicer icon than the default.

    Log Off:

    C:\Windows\System32\logoff.exe

    These are the exact commands I used to produce the Shutdown, Restart and Log Off icons you see below:

    ShutdownRestartLogOff.jpg

    These are actually pinned to my Quick Launch Toolbar.


    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    alan sh (2012-04-02)

  4. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Lancashire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    264
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Thank you. But why should I have to do this?
    I'll have a rant later about the whole Metro concept - but I cannot see businesses accepting this at all. And consumers will run scared unless they have come up from a Metro phone or tablet.

    Alan

  5. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I would read through the numerous threads here about Win 8 CP. There are many changes. Initially there is quite a culture shock. The lack of a Start menu was a big one, but this was easily overcome to the point that I do not miss it at all. I explain why in another thread. All my customizations as well as many other peoples methods of doing things are shown in detail in this forum. Take a look.

    Many of us will spend the majority of our time on the desktop with minimal time on the Metro UI. Those using traditional desktops and laptops will be using the desktop UI IMHO.

    There are actually 10 different ways to shut down Win 8 CP.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Lancashire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    264
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Thank you again.

    Yes, it is a culture shock. As one who started with DOS 1.1 (I never saw 1.0) and grown up with all the incarnations of Windows, this is the biggest change I have seen. I will ready through the posts and start learning.

    Alan

  7. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    NY state
    Posts
    229
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 23 Times in 22 Posts
    I can't see business readily embracing Windows 8 as is with all of the retraining they will need to do for their employees and customizing every PC or making some app to do it. I still think MS has an ulterior motive besides selling apps. It may be a new way to sniff for activation when their apps are checking for updates or connecting to web.
    Joe

  8. #7
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 205 Times in 163 Posts
    Is it not obvious yet, that Win-8 is not designed for the old standard Home Desktop PC?

    It is, to this old tech.

    I've been building a cache of Desktop shortcuts to allow a new user to operate their new Win-8 PC as easily as their old XP, Vista or win-7 PC.

    With all the shortcuts in one folder on my Utilities CD, and with a batch file to install them on a new desktop, the whole operation will take all of maybe....................two seconds. That will probably include installing a script in the Startup folder, to jump right to the Desktop on boot up.
    Just for grins and giggles, here's my current Win-8 Desktop:



    And, here I am playing "MahJongg" a 16 bit program from 1990. This old program runs fine on Win-8/32 with 16 bit support activated.



    I've got this thing covered!

    Cheers mates!
    The Doctor
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •