From a post by a Microsoft support person at WLE 15.4.3555.0308 update:
This update improves performance in Windows Live Essentials 2011. The following list describes these changes:
- Setup: During installation, the splash screen loads faster after user accepts UAC prompt.
- Windows Live Mail: When users click on photos within Windows Live Mail that are hosted on SkyDrive or Facebook, instead of using the Client Album Viewer to view the photos, a browser opens the web album viewer for that application.
- Windows Live Messenger: Fixes the Messenger sign-in error "0x84cb000c" and theMessenger crash or hang when accepting/declining a pending invitation.When users click on photos are hosted on SkyDrive or Facebook, instead of using the Client Album Viewer to view the photos, a browser opens the web album viewer for that application.
- Windows Live Movie Maker: Fixes error 80004003 where Windows Live Movie Maker cant open project files. Fixes setup failure error 80040705 and error 87260103 or when Movie Maker becomes unresponsive, hangs when adding WMV video files.
- Windows Photo gallery: Microsoft updated authorization method required to publish to Flickr and Facebook. Microsoft updated authorization method to communicate with Bing Maps services for geo tagging.
This update will upgrade customers with Windows Live Essentials 2009 Vista sp2 and higher to Windows Live Essentials 2011.
Note: Customers with Windows Live 2009 XP are not impacted.
For more information on Windows Live Essentials 2011 click here: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/w...ssentials-home
The initial update will be optional for a short time, after that initial offering, the update will be required which means the update will need to be installed to continue using Windows Live Essentials applications.
For the optional update, you can ignore the dialog and continue using any currently running Windows Live Essentials applications; these applications will not be blocked by the update.
For the mandatory update, Windows Live Essentials users will be required to update their current versions. Canceling the update request will continue to block the applications from launching, but running applications will not be blocked.