Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Dreadful .NET Framework 2.0

    How do I rid my comps of this dreadful message...forever????

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,171
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 1,138 Times in 1,049 Posts
    If you do that, some apps may stop working. Whether that will happen or not, depends on what you have installed.

  4. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    ok ruirib. what is necessary to fix this problem?

  5. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,171
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 1,138 Times in 1,049 Posts
    What problem would that be?

  6. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    On reboot with both the dell and gateway, the .net message appears. Initially, I thought that the message stemmed from issues with printer drivers but that doesn't seem to be the case.

  7. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,171
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 1,138 Times in 1,049 Posts
    What message appears? Can you be more specific, please?

  8. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    As Windows is as Windows does ....

    Ok. Rebooted Gateway and message didnt appear (of course) at least not this time around. However, Dell speaks...

    Microsoft .NET framework version 2.0 is required to continue. This software is available for free download@ www.microsoft.com/downloads/

    OK so I've done this many times and can never seem to find this particular version at the site and has only served to frustrate the notions out of me.

    Balls in your frame now!

  9. #8

  10. #9
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    Generally an app that requires a particular version of .NET framework will install the version it requires.

    .NET Framework 2.0

    .NET Framework 2.0 SP2

    I wonder if either or both of these will help.

    Oh, sorry, I see John got in just ahead of me.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  11. #10
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for responding! I read the info provided in the link and a few questions came to mind:
    1. Re: Gateway- why the message no longer appears. To my recollection, nothing has been done on my part to correct the issue, at least none that I can recall.

    2. Re: Link- I'm running Win 7 on both comps and the system requirements list all prior Win os.

    3. Re: Network- will this process have any bearing on my network or just the specific comp in question.

  12. #11
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    aaaaah, I just remembered that IE9 was installed on Gateway and Dell is still IE8. Is it possible that the browser change made a difference in .net framework?

  13. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,373
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 594 Times in 531 Posts
    No - .NET is not required for either browser.

    Have you tried installing from the download links proved in post #8 & post #9?

    Joe

  14. #13
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Joe. No, I haven't downloaded anything as of yet becz the system requirements didn't list Windows 7 and absorbing the wealth of info provided in the link. Will do so shortly. Seems simply tapping a key sends my system into a spasm!

  15. #14
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi,

    I attempted install as suggested download and received an error message @ setup wizard:

    Error: Cannot install on 64-bit operating system...setup will exit

  16. #15
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,171
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 1,138 Times in 1,049 Posts
    You will need to pick the correct download. I would say there are 3: one for x86 (it's the one for you), one for x64 and one for IA64. Pick the one for you.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •