Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 25 of 25
  1. #16
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    you start the Windows image restore from either the repair tools on the install dvd or from control panel and recovery from inside Windows.
    I ran that but it didn't replace the current new Windows install with the image.

  2. #17
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Okay, re-running the image restore from the install disk and this time had the option to do a reformat to match the image, so that is in process. This will likely take quite a while to run, so hopefully I'll get back the image and system.
    I'll update later when it completes.

  3. #18
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 930 Times in 851 Posts
    Yes, it does appear the third option of restore from the Installation Disk or System Repair Disk is the only option that will work for you. Keeping my for you.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #19
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Well, I have attempted to restore the image 4 times and it doesn't work. I am follow all of the steps that i find, but no dice.
    When I boot from the install disk, my new drive comes up as F, not C, which is where the image seems to want to go.
    Again, this is using the Windows 7 image recovery.
    Any suggestions?

  5. #20
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 930 Times in 851 Posts
    I have no further suggestions. As I said I do not use the Win 7 Imaging S/W. I use one of the excellent 3rd party apps. At this point you might be at a point where a reinstall is more time effective that continuing to futz with an image that isn't working. Is there anyone out there that has actually restored from the Win 7 Imaging App??? Perhaps it does not like to restore from a network location. My Images are all on an Ext HD. Just guessing here.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #21
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    10,256
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 1,152 Times in 1,061 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JWThau View Post
    Well, I have attempted to restore the image 4 times and it doesn't work. I am follow all of the steps that i find, but no dice.
    When I boot from the install disk, my new drive comes up as F, not C, which is where the image seems to want to go.
    Again, this is using the Windows 7 image recovery.
    Any suggestions?
    I suspect you won't be able to use that image. Can you get the disk back to the original computer and use image from there? That would probably be my last attempt. If not, then I would go to a clean install, as painful as that would be. I would also find an alternate imaging app (I use Acronis, but I simply cannot recommend their current version, so would give easeus or macrium a try).
    Last edited by ruirib; 2012-04-09 at 10:49. Reason: typo

  7. #22
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    The image is not working so after a long, frustrating process, I am just biting the bullet and re-installing everything.
    I would have been done by now, except the image restore "should" have worked.
    I'll be looking into the other imaging programs mentioned once I have this thing running again.
    Thanks for all the input.

  8. #23
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 930 Times in 851 Posts
    Sorry for that. I switched to a 3rd party imaging app a several years ago and haven't looked back. Win 7 Backup and Restore just did not seem to work as advertised for me. This will give you a pristine installation if that's any consolation.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  9. #24
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    That's about the only saving grace here. Once I get everything back in and running , I will be making an image file using one of the other programs sicne I can't rely on the built in one.

  10. #25
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 930 Times in 851 Posts
    Unfortunately, been there, done that!
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •