Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger Not Brightest Bulb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central IL
    Posts
    330
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Screen resolution issue after Nvidia update

    All appears good except now in screen resolution go from 1920 to 1680, there use to be a 1768 between them. (sorry if I have exact numbers wrong)

    One of the things updated was Nvidia 9200, it was optional but I decided the he*l with go for it.

    Just curious as there appears to be no problems.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,606
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 619 Times in 554 Posts
    Check the Nvidia site for a more recent driver. In general, it is not a good idea to update drivers using Windows Update.

    Joe

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger Not Brightest Bulb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central IL
    Posts
    330
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Yes I checked Nvidia and they wanted me to intstall latest Java, I don't have any Java on PC now is this a necessary thing that I need.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,606
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 619 Times in 554 Posts
    The only thing I see is Flash on the Nvidia home page and that is only if you want to see the Nvidia pictures. The Nvidia download page shows no evidence of Java or Flash.

    Joe

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger Not Brightest Bulb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central IL
    Posts
    330
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Well I clicked option 2 as it does an automatic scan & replace (I guess) but it would/could not unless I 1st did latest Java install.

    Java is a very confusing thing as I've read good/bad etc.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,606
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 619 Times in 554 Posts
    Use option 1 - the drop down lists instead of the detection tool.

    Joe

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger Not Brightest Bulb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central IL
    Posts
    330
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Well option 1 sounds good but then you have to pick and choose, below is what I have, I'm gonna assume that the pick of GeForce series 9 is correct and the Windows 7 64 Bit. Does that look like it'll fly.

    Nvidia GeForce 9200

    I appreciate your patience Joe

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,606
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 619 Times in 554 Posts
    You need to know what the card is. Installing an incorrect graphics driver is not a good idea. If this is a desktop PC, shut it down, open the case and look at the card.

    Do you have any system documentation? Is the PC from a major vendor?

    Joe

  9. #9
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    2,138
    Thanks
    102
    Thanked 208 Times in 181 Posts
    In the standard Windows Desktop display settings, there's a checkbox that blocks you from seeing the settings you 'can't use', uncheck the box and see if your native resolution is in there, if so, use it

    (Keep away from anything JAVA unless you really have to install and use it - especially if you're an IE user.)

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger Not Brightest Bulb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central IL
    Posts
    330
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Acer Aspire AX3400G-U4802 Desktop, and it's not a graphics card that you can pull out it's built in rascal.

    I agree with the keep away from Java. I will look for the Windows Desktop display settings.

  11. #11
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,480
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 499 Times in 459 Posts
    SIW - System Information for Windows
    4.jpg
    The above image is an example of how one can identify hardware without having
    to open the computer case.

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger Not Brightest Bulb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central IL
    Posts
    330
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by satrow View Post
    In the standard Windows Desktop display settings, there's a checkbox that blocks you from seeing the settings you 'can't use', uncheck the box and see if your native resolution is in there, if so, use it

    (Keep away from anything JAVA unless you really have to install and use it - especially if you're an IE user.)
    Ok, where are the standard Windows Desktop display settings.

    The resolution settings I have from 800 to 1920, but the 1768 has flown the coop.

    Ok, I just did a restore and all appears good, I then did windows update again without the Nvidia option and my 1768 is back. I have read before about not letting window's update drivers and this one kinda slipped by me then reared up and slapped me in the head.
    Last edited by Not Brightest Bulb; 2012-04-11 at 18:34.

  13. #13
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,203
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Not Brightest Bulb View Post

    Just curious as there appears to be no problems.
    "NBB",
    Hello.....Just some personal experience ...Never Update "Nvidia" Unless your a "Gamer" and need the update for your game ... If your Graphics is working ...there is no reason ...Unless you are a fan of "shooting yourself in the foot".. Once your happy with Nvidia... copy the file and keep it someplace safe ...just in-case ..."cause" you can always go back ...even if Nvida complains about an "Older version" being installed.Just my 2 ¢Regards Fred

    PS: you can search "file hippo" for older versions ...i keep several on hand...just because.
    Last edited by Just Plain Fred; 2012-04-11 at 19:06.
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  14. #14
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Fishkill, New York, USA
    Posts
    411
    Thanks
    93
    Thanked 35 Times in 31 Posts
    I find Speccy from Piriform quite helpful in these situations.
    http://www.piriform.com/speccy

  15. #15
    3 Star Lounger Not Brightest Bulb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central IL
    Posts
    330
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Just Plain Fred View Post
    "NBB",
    Hello.....Just some personal experience ...Never Update "Nvidia" Unless your a "Gamer" and need the update for your game ... If your Graphics is working ...there is no reason ...Unless you are a fan of "shooting yourself in the foot".. Once your happy with Nvidia... copy the file and keep it someplace safe ...just in-case ..."cause" you can always go back ...even if Nvida complains about an "Older version" being installed.Just my 2 ¢Regards Fred

    PS: you can search "file hippo" for older versions ...i keep several on hand...just because.
    Fred, I surely got no argument with that and it will not happen again. I promise!!!!!

    It just irks me when I make a stupid choice.
    Last edited by Not Brightest Bulb; 2012-04-11 at 19:40.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •