New Lounger
    Thanks

Novice needs help making a database

Hello, I am a database novice. I am a Mechanic and I want to make a database to keep track of my work, I would like all the help I can get to make this database. Here is what I need to do with database. I would like it to be three input screens, the first screen would have the fields..Date, W.O#, Shop#(which is a number assigned to a vehicle), Year of vehicle, Mileage, Model, Engine, and Color. The second screen would need a field for me to input the Symptoms( What is wrong with vehicle). The Third screen would need the fields Job Code 1 and Job Code 2 and a space for me to input what I did, on this screen I would need 10 of these fields each. I know how to make a combobox using the wizard so that I can make a drop down for Job code 1 and Job Code 2, where I can see the Job Code and Description and only have the code show up, what I need for Job Code 2 is after picking the code I would need the Description to auto populate next to it then next to that I can input what I did. for example. Job Code 1 is "005"(Diagnose) Job Code 2 is "001"( A/C, Heat, Vent ) I would want the next Textbox to have "A/C, Heat, Vent"(the description) auto populate, then next to that I would need another Text box for for me to say for example "Found Leak in A/C compressor". I found a Database thru Access but it want picture and sale cost buy cost and all I want to do is keep track of what I do I work at the Houston Police Department and sometime I get ask about a Car I worked on 2 months ago, which is why I want to create this database, Just bought this laptop have Access 2010 now just need the database. thanks in advance for all the help John

WS Lounge VIP
    Thanks
    That;'s a very big job.
    I suggest you start with a spreadsheet, which is much like a database. You can make a new one every month or so to stop them being too large.

cheers, Paul

New Lounger
    Thanks