Thanks

Use same DNS server addresses for Modem, Router and Network Adapters?

I have changed the DNS of my Computer System from the default ISP one for a faster one.
    The Shields-Up benchmark stated that I needed to change the Computer adapters also for best results.
    I have 2 different Adapters, USB and Area Network adapter.
    My setup has the Westell 6100 modem, the Netgear N900 Router connected to a home built computer with I7, 12 meg ram.
    Everything seems to work OK as it is now set up with all the same DNS addresses.
    My question is...Should I use the same DNS addresses for everything, or use different ones for the Router and the computer's 2 adapters? I think that the router takes over the addressing of the DNS when it's addresses are working....but what happens if the router's DNS address are maybe overloaded and quit working?
    Yes, I am just starting to learn about networking and would appreciate any advice!
    GiddyUpGo "Don't look back. That is not the direction you are going!"

WS Lounge VIP
    Thanks
    DNS is just a lookup system so your computer knows the real address of things you type in the browser. The lookup happens only once for each new address you type, the results are then stored on your computer. Changing DNS should not make any difference to connection speed. You don't have to worry about the DNS being overloaded, that will be managed by the DNS provider.

Does the modem connect to the router or your computer?

cheers, Paul

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    DNS is just a lookup system so your computer knows the real address of things you type in the browser. The lookup happens only once for each new address you type, the results are then stored on your computer. Changing DNS should not make any difference to connection speed. You don't have to worry about the DNS being overloaded, that will be managed by the DNS provider.

Does the modem connect to the router or your computer?

cheers, Paul