Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,797
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts

    Refresh ? Restore ?

    Never mind, I found it.

    Hello, as I got my W-8 going again, I find a few things strange. I got MSE installed after it got removed when doing the OS install, now I get a warning that comes up on the Action Center, saying that anti spyware needs my attention, I click on it and I get presented with a dialog saying that Defender and MSE are not running. The MSE "Fort" on the Notification area is green and says that I am protected.
    If I click in the first mentioned dialog to turn both of them ON, nothing happens. The Action Center flag has an x on it. In Control Panel, all the settings in Action Center are safe and as needed. This happened after the last updates. It ran fine when first installed.
    OK then, I looked for a Restore function à la Win-7 or XP, searched for Apps and typed in Restore and it said nothing found ! Where is it now ?
    We are having fun, no ? ;-) JP.
    Last edited by handcuff36; 2012-04-13 at 19:28.

  2. #2
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    JP,

    Under Settings - File History

    Win+W, type in File

    OR > Start, type File

    Cheers,
    Drew

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Windows Defender is MSE (of Win 7) just renamed. You need not install MSE as WD is installed and enabled by default.

    Win 8 CP refresh and Restore
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,797
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Ted, many a thanks. This is the best .txt that I have seen so far. I have saved the URL as a .doc. JP.

    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    Windows Defender is MSE (of Win 7) just renamed. You need not install MSE as WD is installed and enabled by default.

    Win 8 CP refresh and Restore
    Last edited by handcuff36; 2012-04-13 at 20:15.

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,797
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Drew, talk about getting a full basket. There are so many options on that page that it will bear reading for a long while and trying some. As for Ted, I thank you.

    Quote Originally Posted by Drew1903 View Post
    JP,

    Under Settings - File History

    Win+W, type in File

    OR > Start, type File

    Cheers,
    Drew

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    You are welcome JP
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #7
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    Many options on what page?

    The item you were seeking is "File History"

    Drew

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,797
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Morning, Drew. Still in bed ?

    You wrote : Many options on what page? The item you were seeking is "File History".

    It was there along with a screenfull of apps, 121 in fact. A while back, I installed a French keyboard in language and now I find some screens showing me some french links that I really did not ask for nor want. Also, I have not yet mastered the "override" in language when booting, it always come up on the French KB, not much of a problem, I can toggle it back to English in a second.

    I did do a Restore after finding it and the MSE is gone, no more problem in this regard. I do Acronis clones of all my machines, this one still has an Action Center of a warning to check my backup which I will not do as a clone to me is the complete answer. Where can I defeat this warning, I went to it and only found a "Change backup settings" nowhere to cancel it.

    Going to the boonies for a week with a W-7 Toshiba laptop, I will be absent here then. Have fun. JP.

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    JP, have fun in the "boonies"
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •