Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 23 of 23
  1. #16
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    In my case, the 32 vs 64-bit started back with XP and when I upgraded to Win 7, I just stuck with what I knew. Back then, I had heard that there were problems with 32-bit applications and drivers.

    I've done the upgrade, and things went pretty smoothly. The only problems I had were my own fault (copying the documents folder to the USB drive, and placing it in the wrong folder, so when I went back, I thought they were missing...)

    Tomorrow, I'm going down to MIcro Center to pick up 8gb of DDR 3 for $35 and will tear into the machine and install them (along with blowing out the dust and making sure everything is still seated correctly...)

    Thanks again for all the good advice.


    Eric the Grey
    Doesn't Microsoft mean small and limp?

  2. #17
    Bronze Lounger Drew1903's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    1,314
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 100 Times in 79 Posts
    You're welcome. And 8G for $35, is that a misprint?

    Drew

  3. #18
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Drew1903 View Post
    You're welcome. And 8G for $35, is that a misprint?

    Drew
    Nope, got it in black and white (mailer came in the mail today) and not even a MIR associated with it. Although they don't mention a brand. Micro Center is pretty good when it comes to deals.

    Just in case though, I plan to take the print-out of the Crucial scan with me to make double sure I get the right memory.


    Eric the Grey
    Doesn't Microsoft mean small and limp?

  4. #19
    Bronze Lounger Drew1903's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    1,314
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 100 Times in 79 Posts
    Sure is an earth-shattering price!! RAM may be cheap, these days but, that's just crazy-cheap!

    Drew

  5. #20
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 930 Times in 851 Posts
    Heck, I bought 8 GB Crucial Ram for my laptop about 6 months ago for $47 USD. Forget where I got it now but I could not turn it down. Has been performing flawlessly since.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #21
    Bronze Lounger Drew1903's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    1,314
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 100 Times in 79 Posts
    That's damn good, too, Ted!! I'd put 8Gigs in mine, too... but, I'm too old to try & click fast enough to keep up w/ an 8G machine. (yeah, right)

    I built an 8Gig, i7, Windows7 machine for a client recently... WOW, was it ever quick!! Imagine if that were Windows8... can you say, flying, boys & girls?

    Drew

  7. #22
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 930 Times in 851 Posts
    At the time I was thinking of playing with VM's, but I just do not have the time now. Perhaps in the future. For now, my laptop does very nicely.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  8. #23
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA, USA
    Posts
    133
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts
    There isn't much advantage to installing 64-bit unless you have 4+ GB of RAM.

    Some 32-bit applications will not run on 64-bit Win 7. I had a fax application I liked which was labeled as "Windows 7 compatible". It did not work. I went to the support page and the very last item said it was not compatible with 64-bit Win 7. That was more than 2 years ago not long after Win 7 was released.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •