Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Desktop Loses Local Area Connection

    In the past few days my Win7 Professional desktop has lost its internet connection several times.

    I have a Linksys-G Wireless Router.

    My wireless devices (IPad, and old Vista laptop) are fine, and they remain connected to the internet. It's just the desktop (hard-cabled to the router) that has the problem.

    When I lose the connection on the desktop, I go into CP, Network & Sharing, Local Area Connection, and I right click on LAN, and choose Disable. I then choose Enable, and everything is then fine until it happens again in an hour or so.

    I've had this setup for years and I've not made any changes in all that time, other than accepting WindowsUpdates.

    Any advice on how to stop these annoying connection losses would be much appreciated.

    Thanks for any help!

    Alan

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,180
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    Could be a cable / hardware problem. Remove and re-connect the network cable.
    Try deleting the network card and then re-booting. Windows will re-install it.

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks, Paul.

    I removed the cable and then plugged it back and then I tried a different cable but that didn't solve the issue.

    I can't find a Network Card in Device Manager (I hope this is visible):

    Capture.JPG

    Might it be possible that this 2004 Router is going bad even though my wireless devices are still connecting just fine?

    Thank you again,

    Alan

  4. #4
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Alan,

    The Realtek is your network card, unless you have 2 in your machine.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thans RetiredGeek,

    I'm also retired and also in the Carolinas.

    I have to admit I'm afraid to Uninstall the Realtek because I'm concerned W7 then won't detect it and I won't know what to do at that point.

    Would Uninstalling this card in CP knock my Ipad and laptop off the internet too, or just the desktop?

    Thanks,

    Alan

  6. #6
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Alan,

    It should not affect the other devices connected to your router in any way. There are two steps you can take to avoid disaster if Win-7 doesn't automatically reinstall the card.
    1. Go to the Realtek site and download the drivers for your card and Win-7 then you can reinstall yourself if necessary.
    2. Take an Image Backup first you can then just restore if problems arise with step 1.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,180
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    I'm sure Windows 7 will find and re-install the Realtek card without problems.

    cheers, Paul

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •