Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    699
    Thanks
    301
    Thanked 25 Times in 19 Posts

    Restoring OS image from external drive

    I have 2 internal drives on my W7 Home Premium desktop system.
    One is partitioned so that C:\ contains the OS and my programs; D:\ contains my data.
    The 2nd drive is used for backups (using Macrium Reflect, paid version.)

    I have a LaCie external drive that I also use for images images. On my system it is drive H:\

    If I try to restore an image from H:\ the cursor just blinks, and then asks me to retry or enter system setup.

    How do I change the boot order so the system will first look for H:\ and then revert to C:\ if I don't
    have the external drive plugged in (which I usually don't; but would want to if I was trying to restore
    an image from H:\?)

    Thanks for your help,
    Dick

    PS,
    My desktop is a Dell 4600.

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA)
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    If you have an image on drive D or whatever on your 2nd internal drive, you should be able to use that to restore from easier than from your external drive. But in any event in order to boot you need to have a boot disk for whatever Image program you are using - probably Macrium. If you are still able to boot to C Drive, you should go to Macrium in Programs and create such a disk.

  4. #3
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    5,316
    Thanks
    124
    Thanked 462 Times in 426 Posts
    If you are attempting to restore the image on the external drive you'll need the Macrium boot disk.You might also try just using the keyboard. Having the external drive made to show as first boot drive will only make sense if you have something on it to boot to.

  5. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oldtraveler View Post
    If you have an image on drive D or whatever on your 2nd internal drive, you should be able to use that to restore from easier than from your external drive. But in any event in order to boot you need to have a boot disk for whatever Image program you are using - probably Macrium. If you are still able to boot to C Drive, you should go to Macrium in Programs and create such a disk.
    The only problem here would be if the HD itself goes bad. This is why it is so important to have an Image external to the HD as well. As Clint states boot to the Macrium Boot disk, and access your Image to restore from there. The restoration of the OS should occur from outside the OS. At least this is how I restore from Acronis. I know Dick, Acronis does not work for you.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    699
    Thanks
    301
    Thanked 25 Times in 19 Posts
    Thanks all. A few clarifications:
    I take images to my internal drive and external drive for just the reason Ted mentioned - in case my internal drive dies.
    I have used the Macrium rescue cd often ('cause of playing around w/my system), and restored from my internal drive's image.
    A few months ago I installed a Macrium "extra", such that when I boot up normally I am presented with 3 choices, in the following order:
    Windows 7
    Macrium Reflect System Recovery
    Microsoft Windows Recovery Console

    If I choose door #2, I can recover from a Macrium image on my internal drive without having to use the rescue cd.

    So, what I was trying to accomplish - and, hence my question, was to use choice #2 and recover from an image on my external drive.

    It turns out - as per your suggestions - that I have to use the rescue cd to recover from the external drive. I have done so, and can continue on with my "belt and suspenders" approach to taking images.

    Thanks,
    Dick

  7. #6
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA)
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Interesting.

    You MAY be able to get the boot order you wish by going into your BIOS settings with your external drive attached.

  8. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA)
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    The only problem here would be if the HD itself goes bad. This is why it is so important to have an Image external to the HD as well. As Clint states boot to the Macrium Boot disk, and access your Image to restore from there. The restoration of the OS should occur from outside the OS. At least this is how I restore from Acronis. I know Dick, Acronis does not work for you.
    He states that he has images on BOTH a 2nd internal drive as well as the external drive which is good. The restoration if done from an internal drive would normally be easier and faster. The image on the external drive to be used in the event of internal disk failure.

  9. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    Yes, I realize this. I guess we are just misinterpreting what each other are saying. We are both saying the same thing from the opposite sides it appears.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  10. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    699
    Thanks
    301
    Thanked 25 Times in 19 Posts
    Story of my life . . .

    Dick

  11. #10
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    2,336
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 226 Times in 180 Posts
    For what it's worth, I put my drive images on an external drive that is in a powered drive dock connected through eSATA. It's the same speed as going to an internal drive. The drive dock was under $40 USD, and included all the necessary cables and hardware. It can also connect through USB, but eSATA is noticably faster.
    Create a new drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "Let them that don't want it have memories of not gettin' any." "Gratitude is riches and complaint is poverty and the worst I ever had was wonderful." Brother Dave Gardner "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else." Sir Thomas Robert Deware. "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Do you understand?" Captain Jack Sparrow.
    Unleash Windows

  12. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    916
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dick-Y View Post
    Thanks all. A few clarifications:
    I take images to my internal drive and external drive for just the reason Ted mentioned - in case my internal drive dies.
    I have used the Macrium rescue cd often ('cause of playing around w/my system), and restored from my internal drive's image.
    A few months ago I installed a Macrium "extra", such that when I boot up normally I am presented with 3 choices, in the following order:
    Windows 7
    Macrium Reflect System Recovery
    Microsoft Windows Recovery Console

    If I choose door #2, I can recover from a Macrium image on my internal drive without having to use the rescue cd.

    So, what I was trying to accomplish - and, hence my question, was to use choice #2 and recover from an image on my external drive.

    It turns out - as per your suggestions - that I have to use the rescue cd to recover from the external drive. I have done so, and can continue on with my "belt and suspenders" approach to taking images.

    Thanks,
    Dick
    when you choose option #2 "Macrium Reflect System recovery" maybe it is requiring you to put in the rescue disc. Unless Macrium Extra has put the contents of the rescue disk on your hard disk somewhere (maybe in an extra partition as windows recovery console is often set up) maybe there is an option during this procedure to select the drive that the image is stored on if it can see your external drive.
    Last edited by curiousclive; 2012-04-22 at 02:31.
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •