Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 48
  1. #16
    Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,168
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 132 Times in 113 Posts

    Exclamation Hack tool detected

    Microsoft Security Essentials reports the linked to download (microsoft.games.patcher.1.2-patch.exe) as a hack tool.

    games patcher.JPG

    I recommend to use with extreme caution.

    Also, as noted earlier in the thread, the unauthorised copying of cardgames.dll from a licensed Windows 7 installation to any other platform will be in violation of the Windows 7 licence.
    In God we trust; all others must bring data.

    - William Edwards Deming. 1900 - 1993

  2. #17
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    yes,I've tried step by step and it doesn't work (((....why me??? )

  3. #18
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    Sorry, no other ideas then.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #19
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Fairfax County, Virginia
    Posts
    434
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 41 Times in 33 Posts
    I installed Solitaire on Windows 8 CP, and it worked fine. Then I up graded to Windows 8 RP and installed Solitaire again, but now it doesn't work. It's possible I didn't do the installation exactly the same way, but I think I did. The Solitaire icon is in the desktop taskbar. When I click it it looks like it's active for several seconds, then it returns to inactive, and nothing opens.

  5. #20
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    what could go wrong? I don't know the reason...

  6. #21
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I don't know if the patching is right the way i do....after i copy in my comp all those,i must press patch button from that program and then i must open the game...right?

  7. #22
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    this what is written after trying to open the game ''the version of this program isn't compatible with the version of Windows you're running. check your computer's system information to see whether you need a different version of the program for a 32bit operating system, 64bit operating system, or an ARM processor.'' I don't understand much thing from this,cause I don't know computers very well

  8. #23
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    You may not be able to then, sorry
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  9. #24
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Florence, SC, USA
    Posts
    98
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
    There is a new games app available in the Apps Store. Search for Solitaire in the apps store to find Card Games Chest

  10. #25
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Fairfax County, Virginia
    Posts
    434
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 41 Times in 33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mlg63 View Post
    There is a new games app available in the Apps Store. Search for Solitaire in the apps store to find Card Games Chest
    I'm looking at the Install screen for the Card Games Chest. It says:

    This app has permission to use:
    Your Internet connection

    Why would a game need an internet connection?

    I don't know Summit Data Corp, but it looks like they want to collect data about me and my computer usage to sell to nefarious third parties.

    I don't think so.

  11. #26
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Mix won't Match!

    I'm wondering if you tried using Win 7 32bit game files in a 64 bit system?
    I have a 32 bit Win7 system sitting here and I tried the above drill to install the 32 bit files to a 64 bit copy of Win 8............. wouldn't work!
    This morning I had an epiphany so swapped out the hdd containing Win 8 64 with a drive containing Win 7 64, copied the files above to an SDD drive. Reversed the drives again, followed the drill, ran the patcher, and everything is working fine. Just a thought!

  12. #27
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The link to Microsoft Games Patcher 1.2 seems to be broken

  13. #28
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    I do not use it any more. I do not believe it's valid any longer. Just use the Win 8 Store app, Games section and look for MS Solitaire Collection for Free Cell. It's actually better anyway.

    This was an old patch for Win 8 CP.

    By the way many of the games supply online options and hence do use your internet connection. I play both the above Free Cell game and the MS Mahjong game and both supply daily challenges that download daily puzzles/games from the internet. You can use the games without internet, but I believe they are somewhat throttled and less fun.
    Last edited by Medico; 2012-12-07 at 16:53.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  14. #29
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Freecell patch links to Dropbox 404 pages error - any other link available?

    Hi,
    I followed the instructions for Freecell/games xfer from Vista operating system in Windows 8. I was doing well until I clicked on the last step (broken link).
    You say below that it doesn't work anymore. Is that 'for definite'? I hate the free games options MS has put with Windows 8 and would really like to get Freecell working as before. Just a thought and thx.

  15. #30
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    That is definite! This patch was used during Win 8 CP in early 2012. It is now invalid. I quite like the MS offerings. I play Free Cell and Mahjong every day. The only reason I searched for and found the above info was to allow me to play Free Cell during this time when nothing else was available. Now that we have these offerings in the MS app store, I am quite content.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •