Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Internet Time

  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,413
    Thanks
    197
    Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts

    Internet Time

    If I try to synchronise the time with any of the alternative time servers listed under Internet Time I get "Access Denied". What Internet Time Server address do fellow Loungers recommend? (I live in Malta).
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB)

    Roy Whitethread

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I just used time-nw.nist.gov and it worked, but at various times I have also received those access denied problems. I would just try them all and see what happens.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,425
    Thanks
    155
    Thanked 579 Times in 513 Posts

  4. #4
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,053
    Thanks
    151
    Thanked 590 Times in 540 Posts
    Dimension 4 v5.0
    An alternative with far more time servers to choose from.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to CLiNT For This Useful Post:

    royw (2012-04-22)

  6. #5
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,338
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 103 Times in 99 Posts
    I'm in the UK and use the default setting of time.windows.com

    No problems but I do miss the notification when it has changed the clock from GMT to BST and vice versa!

  7. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    920
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Browni View Post
    I'm in the UK and use the default setting of time.windows.com

    No problems but I do miss the notification when it has changed the clock from GMT to BST and vice versa!
    Have you ticked the box that says "Notify me when time changes" in the time and date tab?
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  8. #7
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,413
    Thanks
    197
    Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
    CLiNT,

    Thanks for the link. I have installed Dimension and hopefully will not have a problem in future.

    Best regards, Roy
    OS Dual Boot Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit & Windows 7 Pro With SP1 64 bit. (Intel Core i7 2600K Processor LGA1155-Asus P867 Pro Motherboard-GTX550 Ti DirectCU Graphics Card-Memory 8GB)

    Roy Whitethread

  9. #8
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,199
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 153 Times in 141 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Browni View Post
    I'm in the UK and use the default setting of time.windows.com
    Ditto, but I use uk.pool.ntp.org...
    BATcher

    Correlation is not causation.

  10. #9
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,338
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 103 Times in 99 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by curiousclive View Post
    Have you ticked the box that says "Notify me when time changes" in the time and date tab?
    Good point! but yes it's ticked.

    Possibly in Vista & Windows 7 if the PC is active it will pop up one of the system tray messages that disappear after 10 seconds or so. The last time I remember seeing a proper message box informing me that the time had been changed was when using XP.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •