Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Security updates won't install

    I did post a while back on this subject. Windows 7 64bit will install all updates except security updates. Microsoft say you have to do an upgrade install to fix the problem, only problem with that is it won't work for me. It does everything right up until you have to put in what sort of network you are on (home), it then says it is installing your settings which I assume is the last stag of the process, but it just stays on that screen for ages doesn't seem to want to go past that stage of the process(don't know how long that should take but have left it for over an hour). My question is I have images of the system dating back over two years, can I restore to an image that will accept the updates make a copy of the registry then restore back to the present image and restore the registry. Would that fix the problem and only overwrite the registry items in the backup, or would it delete everything and replace them with the backup. Hope this makes sense to you, any help would be appreciated.
    Cheers John.

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    2,362
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 235 Times in 188 Posts
    That would not work; it would overwrite the entire registry.

    Have you tried the upgrade install without the network?
    Create a new drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "Let them that don't want it have memories of not gettin' any." "Gratitude is riches and complaint is poverty and the worst I ever had was wonderful." Brother Dave Gardner "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else." Sir Thomas Robert Deware. "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Do you understand?" Captain Jack Sparrow.
    Unleash Windows

  4. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you for your quick reply bbearren. I don't know what an upgrade install without network is.

  5. #4
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    2,362
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 235 Times in 188 Posts
    What I mean is to unplug your ethernet cable and run the upgrade install. When you get to the network setup portion, select "none". If that works, you can setup your network connection later.
    Create a new drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "Let them that don't want it have memories of not gettin' any." "Gratitude is riches and complaint is poverty and the worst I ever had was wonderful." Brother Dave Gardner "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else." Sir Thomas Robert Deware. "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Do you understand?" Captain Jack Sparrow.
    Unleash Windows

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to bbearren For This Useful Post:

    Ickabod (2012-04-21)

  7. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Now I get it!. I was not aware I could skip that part. Do I still put the Reg key in or do I skip that part too.

  8. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    916
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
    You may have to re-activate if so yes .
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •