Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Windows XP machine has lost network connection

    My WinXP PC has lost its internet connection (hardwired to a Netgear wireless router, which continues to work for wireless connections and other hardwired machines). It happened in the middle of a session, and it wasn't a result of an update that I started. Looking at the Restore Points, there was a Software Distribution Service 3.0 update a couple of days ago; could that be responsible? I haven't tried rolling back yet because I've been looking around for a fix and restoring never seems to work in other threads.

    I've tried renewing the IP address (see image), updating the ethernet card driver, and checking that the relevant services are starting automatically (DNS client, DHCP client, RPC client), and they are. ipconfig output is pasted below. Any ideas?

    Phil


    ip_renew.JPG
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\>ipconfig/release

    Windows IP Configuration

    No operation can be performed on while it has its media disconnected.

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

    Ethernet adapter {4D1E788F-8829-4016-8A5D-1FC57945646B}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

    C:\>ipconfig/renew

    Windows IP Configuration

    An error occurred while renewing interface Local Area Connection : unable to con
    tact your DHCP server. Request has timed out.
    No operation can be performed on while it has its media disconnected.

    C:\>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : MyPC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
    ernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1D-60-62-F5-D0
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.10.165
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

    Ethernet adapter {4D1E788F-8829-4016-8A5D-1FC57945646B}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Check Point Virtual Network Adapter
    For SSL Network Extender - Packet Scheduler Miniport
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 54-3E-7B-38-03-0A

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Have you tried replacing the cable? Or trying a different router port?

    In my previous experience, "media disconnected" usually meant hardware issues.
    Last edited by ruirib; 2012-04-25 at 06:33.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ruirib View Post
    Have you tried replacing the cable? Or trying a different router port?
    Yes, I've tried both. But it looks like it's a PC problem to me, as I can't seem to renew the IP address of the PC, or even connect to the router's console.

    Phil

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    You don't have an extra network card that can use for testing? Or a wireless adapter?

    You can try restoring the pc back to the previous state, but I wouldn't have much faith in it. I'd say hardware fault is the most likely cause, in this case, an issue with that network card.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ruirib View Post
    You don't have an extra network card that can use for testing? Or a wireless adapter?

    You can try restoring the pc back to the previous state, but I wouldn't have much faith in it. I'd say hardware fault is the most likely cause, in this case, an issue with that network card.
    No, no spares like that. I was wondering if it was a hardware issue; this could be the prompt to get a new Win7 machine...

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    I can't be definitive about it. Definitely try the restore, if you want to be sure it's not software related.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ruirib View Post
    I can't be definitive about it. Definitely try the restore, if you want to be sure it's not software related.
    Will do, and thanks for your help. I'll let you know how I get on.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Please do .

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hmm, well it seems like the law of checking all connections, asking Google, writing to your favourite forum, restoring to an earlier date (this failed to fix the issue), and then checking all the connections again "just in case" has all worked. I wonder which part was successful?

    Thanks again for your help.

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Well, I guess what really matters is that it is working, right? Sometimes it can feel frustrating that you don't know what did it, but I have learned that you may just have to accept it .

  11. #11
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,795
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Some times the Ethernet cable can slip out of its jack just enough to no longer make good contact. The plastic spring clip tends to either get weak or break over time. I suspect either the connection to the router or the one to the PC was loose. Some support people will suggest reversing the cable to be sure both connections are tested.

    Jerry

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Network Software Help

    When network problems involve the way software is not working correctly, I recommend trying the freeware program:
    Rizone Complete Internet Repair 1.2.8.1288
    Think it is on MajorGeeks and Softpedia.

  13. #13
    Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,168
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 134 Times in 115 Posts
    A little bit late on this, and the problem appears to have gone away for now - but not conclusively.

    So, reading the thread from the top, one thing that stands out to me is the "media disconnected" was on the Checkpoint virtual interface, while the physical Ethernet port had been assigned an Automatic Private IP Address (APIPA).

    At a guess, the OP has a Checkpoint VPN client or Firewall installed (maybe Zone Alarm?) and this had failed, causing the APIPA address to be generated for the physical and "media state disconnected" for the virtual.

    If the issue reoccurs, I would look to the Checkpoint software, verifying any entries in the System or Applications logs of the Event Viewer.

    /....this is the point where the OP comes back and says he has no Checkpoint software installed and I look silly
    In God we trust; all others must bring data.

    - William Edwards Deming. 1900 - 1993

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •