Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Waltham, MA, USA
    Posts
    160
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Using Insert Caption dialog box

    Instructions are simple enough: select the item to caption, then click "Insert Caption" in the References menu to open the Captions dialog box. I can change the label, etc. but no cursor appears in the "Caption:" line near the top of that box, and I can't type in it. What to do? I want to create captions, so I can in turn create a table of figures to go with the table of contents. I'm using Word 2010.

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    690
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 66 Times in 56 Posts
    For me, clicking anywhere in the caption box causes the cursor to reappear. IS this not happening for you?

    Pam

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,853
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 259 Times in 239 Posts
    In my version of Word 2010 I can type into the Caption field of the dialog.

    If you can't do this (I don't know why) then it doesn't matter much. Just use the dialog to insert the caption numbering. Once you return to the document, add your text in the same paragraph.
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Waltham, MA, USA
    Posts
    160
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Still can't enter text...

    I tried again. I can create the caption, which reads "Figure 1", but still can't enter anything in the "Caption" pane at the top of the dialog box. I could create the "Figure 1" using the dialog box and then type following that in the body of the document, but would that give me the functionality I want? Seems to me that if there's a pane in the dilog box I should be able to use it.

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Waltham, MA, USA
    Posts
    160
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Is the problem maybe that I am using the built-in "caption" style elsewhere in the document? I used that style, modifying it, for captions of a number of images. These captions aren't linked to the images. I am only using the style to define the appearance of the text. Perhaps if I selected another style for these? And, related question: can I have multilevel captioning that will show up in a table of figures, the way that different heading levels do in the table of contents? Some of my Figures consist of a series of images labeled A, B, C etc. I can have only one table of contents and I want to keep the table of figures separate.

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Gloucester, Gloucestershire
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    What is the paragraph formatting of your "Caption" style? If it is right-justified, or if it is centered but has a large left indent, then the insertion point is too far to the right in the caption dialog box, so it is effectively outside the box. As you can't resize the dialog box, you might need to change the paragraph formatting of your "Caption" style.

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Waltham, MA, USA
    Posts
    160
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Thinking outside the box

    Thanks for thinking outside the box. I'll check on that possibility.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •