Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Can't reopen Firefox without restarting computer

    Hello All:

    Currently running Firefox version 10.0.4 and suddenly any time I use Firefox and close it I can't reopen it without restarting my system. Dialog box says can not open new window because Firefox is already running but not responding. I restart and all is fine unless I close and then try to reopen.????????

    Should I download the Beta 13.0 version or would that just be the same way.???????

    Thank You for any help....please
    Glenn

  2. #2
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I just updated to firefox 12.0, still got same problem as above and VERY SORRY FOR THE DOUBLE POST, not sure how that happened!!

    Glenn

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger chowur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    804
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 54 Times in 51 Posts
    Here are some suggestions for your problem,I hope this will help.Here is the link;http://www.ehow.com/info_12183854_fi...me-reopen.html
    Problems cannot be solved by the same level of thinking that created them. -Albert Einsten

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi Glenn, try closing FF by clicking 'File' 'Exit' then open Task Manager and look in the 'Applications' tab to see if its still running. If it is, the best thing to do is install FF version 12 after completely removing the version you have installed currently (12).
    On my pc's I use Outpost Firewall Pro which protects certain apps including Firefox.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I get this now and then. I'm still running FF 3.6.28. It has never shown up as a running application in the Task Manager. I have found that in most cases, if I wait a bit (5 - 10 sec.) it clears itself and I can open FF again. If not, what I do is open the task manager and, on the Processes tab, end the process "firefox *32".

    Making sure all extensions and plug-ins are current may also help. With all the rapid version releases, these get out of date continuously.

    See also http://kb.mozillazine.org/Firefox_hangs#Hang_at_exit"]http://kb.mozillazine.org/Firefox_hangs#Hang_at_exit"]http://kb.mozillazine.org/Firefox_hangs#Hang_at_exit

    I've never had to reboot to fix the problem, just clear the process.

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    I've had to use Task Manager to close Firefox a couple of times recently after closing the program but never had to reboot to get Firefox back again.

    For some reason the process doesn't end immediately after you close Firefox.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    NMB, SC
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Open 'Task Manager' and click on the 'Processes' tab. Right click the 'firefox.exe *32' and then left click on 'End Process'. It seems to take a few seconds for Firefox to get around to closing this process once you close the application. Or as rel suggests, you can just wait for 15 seconds or so and Firefox will end the process on it's own.

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Hampshire USA
    Posts
    431
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 37 Times in 34 Posts
    Your first post said 'suddenly', which seems to imply that you were previously running 10.0.4 without experiencing this problem. This could suggest that it's occurring because of some change in the way you're using FF - if there's been any such change recently. Other than that, the only times I've experienced this were with older versions when I had a ton of tabs and FF took a while to unwind its memory usage for them after exiting (I suppose this could happen with newer versions as well if you had actually accessed a lot of tabs during the current session), or when I'd forgotten that I had a 'downloads' or 'library' (history) window open (both of which appear to use an additional instance of FF that doesn't go away when you exit the normal one).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •