Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Oregon, USA
    Posts
    236
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Use your mouse to type?

    Anyone know of a program which would allow the mouse to click on letters and type in words? I know it would be slow and klunky but better than nothing.

    My keyboard has started doing random freezes. I think it is in the actual plug to the tower. Sometimes just jogging the plug and rebooting works. When it happens when a customer is standing here wanting to know about their file it would be nice to be able to click in a search name.

    Probably have to buy another new keyboard. Since the cord is hardwired to the kb and can't be changed. Hmmm -- I'm off to the hardware board to ask about keyboards.

  2. #2
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Use your mouse to type?

    If you are using Windows 2000 there is a virtual keyboard available under the accessability options..

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Use your mouse to type?

    Hi Ron:

    Just for your information, if you click the "Tag Panel" & choose the top right icon you can post a live link, so it will look like this
    url=link]description[/url] (I left out the opening bracket on purpose.)

    When you paste in the link & description like this:

    url=http://www.zdnet.com/downloads/stories/info/0,10615,74208,00.html]Click-N-Type[/url]

    it will look like this <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.zdnet.com/downloads/stories/info/0,10615,74208,00.html>Click-N-Type</A>

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Use your mouse to type?

    Try Click-N-Type, it is free and you can find it at

    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.zdnet.com/downloads/stories/info/0,10615,74208,00.html>http://www.zdnet.com/downloads/stories/inf...5,74208,00.html</A>

    Ron <img src=/S/bingo.gif border=0 alt=bingo width=15 height=22>

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Oregon, USA
    Posts
    236
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Use your mouse to type?

    Tx Always wondered why MS didn't offer one for accessabilty. Glad they finally got around to it. Now I just have to upgrade to 2000. Meanwhile I will check out the link first chance I get.

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Use your mouse to type?

    As you might imagine XP also has the on-screen keyboard. However, with mine there are no letters on the keycaps until the mouse hovers on them. I don't like this mode - and I can't see how to chage it. Anyone?

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Use your mouse to type?

    I regularly wear the letters off my physical keyboard, so that wouldn't bother me at all! <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15> You're just going to have to learn to type with more than one phalange at a time, MerC. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    Charlotte

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Morden, Surrey, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,838
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Use your mouse to type?

    There's one in windows ME too
    Beryl M


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •