Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Unable to backup C drive using windows backup

    I periodically back up my C: drive to an external hard drive. The last time a attempted to run backup (Win XP Pro) I got the error "Unable to open "C:\Documents and Settings\WMD\Local Settings\Temporary Internet Files\Content.IE5\VNHHB2GU\LPBofA1[1]" - skipped.
    Reason: Not enough quota is available to process this command.". I have lots of room on the external drive. Defragged the external drive but received same error. Backup works if I select only Documents and Settings.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Have you tried deleting the contents of the browser cache with a program like CCleaner, Windows built in default, or manually?

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes, I did run CCleaner.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Wayne,

    Maybe this will help.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I forgot to mention that I doubled the paging file to 3072MB. First thing I tried but it did not help.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Do you realy need to backup temporary internet files "C:\Documents and Settings\WMD\Local Settings\Temporary Internet Files\Content.IE5\VNHHB2GU\LPBofA1[1]"?
    I would also run a thorough AV/AM scan on the system, preferably form safemode if possible.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I ran Norton and Malwarebytes in safe mode - nothing found. The error message I show in my post was just the first of several pages of errors before the backup failed. I was attempting to backup the entire C: drive

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,798
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    See if the suggestion here heleps:
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms820778.aspx

    J
    erry

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks, but I already tried this re: #4&5

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •