Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    London/Kingston, Surrey, United Kingdom
    Posts
    515
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Memory upgrade for server

    Hi all,

    I am thinking to upgrade the memory on one of my servers. The server is a Proliant DL380 G5 with 4GB (1x4) and it has 6 slots. I was thinking to upgrade it to 8 GB. Is it better to get 2GBx4 or 4GBx2?

    Many thanks,

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,606
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 620 Times in 555 Posts
    Generally with servers the more RAM the better but it really depends on what the load is on the server. At a minimum have you looked at Task Manager to see what memory usage is?

    Joe

  3. #3
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    2,848
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 110 Times in 104 Posts
    The very first question you should ask yourself: is the server running a 64-bit operating system? If it isn't, you're wasting your money going much above 3 GB! Also some servers (particularly Dells) like "matched pairs" of memory sticks.
    BATcher

    Dear Diary, today the Hundred Years War started ...

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,724
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 236 Times in 224 Posts
    Unless the server runs SQL, mail or other database program you won't see any difference. Even then the issue may be disk performance, not memory.

    cheers, Paul

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    London/Kingston, Surrey, United Kingdom
    Posts
    515
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for all your replies guys. I think I will stick with what I have got, the server function well as it is.

    Much appreciated

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    737
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 63 Times in 51 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BATcher View Post
    The very first question you should ask yourself: is the server running a 64-bit operating system? If it isn't, you're wasting your money going much above 3 GB! Also some servers (particularly Dells) like "matched pairs" of memory sticks.
    Just a small correction. 32 bit Windows server can run with more than 3GB of RAM. Server is a different animal than Professional or Home, in that the more you spend, the more capability it has. In most cases PAE (Physical Address Extensions) has to be enabled. Windows server memory limits.
    Chuck

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •