Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tampa, FL, USA
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    How to make headings without using row number 1

    Headings in a spreadsheet are usually necessary but why do the headings have to take up Row Number 1? Is there any way to have headings without taking up Row 1?

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,873
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 79 Times in 75 Posts
    Not sure what you mean - you can put headings anywhere you like.
    Regards,
    Rory
    Microsoft MVP - Excel.

  4. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Newcastle, UK
    Posts
    1,474
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 168 Times in 164 Posts
    Hi

    One way you can have 'headings' in row 1 without taking up row 1 is to use Data Validation.
    For example, in cell [A1] select Data Validation, go to tab Input Message and enter your required heading, e.g. Name, in the the Input message box. Do the same for cell [B1] etc.
    Now, when you select [a1] you will see your heading.
    This can be copied down as required, so that whenever you are in a particular column, you will see your defined 'column heading'.

    zeddy

  5. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tampa, FL, USA
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Thanks!

    Thanks Rory and Zeddy!

    My question was for very simplistic reasons: When I have a list in a column, I want the numbered cell of the last item in the list to be the total. If I use cell number 1 as my heading, the last item is always 1 less than the total..... it just bugs me.

  6. #5
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,058
    Thanks
    196
    Thanked 766 Times in 700 Posts
    Leland,

    How about using a split screen and just putting the headings in a high numbered row and displaying that row in the top split?
    Split Screen.JPG
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  7. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tampa, FL, USA
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks RG!
    My lists are seldom more than a hundred or so and my vanity tells me it looks pretty cool too! I'll try both suggestions to see which I lean toward.
    Leland

  8. #7
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Newcastle, UK
    Posts
    1,474
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 168 Times in 164 Posts
    Hi Leland

    The attached file shows another suggestion.
    On sheet1, you have your headings above numbered rows and below columns with letters.
    On sheet2, you can have more than one row for your headings if required.
    On sheet3, you see the normal excel layout.

    OK, I cheated by making my own sheet row and column headers and turned Excel's off.
    But if it does want you want then what the heck.
    Wouldn't recommend doing this if you use formulas though, unless you love the R1C1 method.
    Just shows there are always lots of different ways to do stuff in Excel.

    zeddy
    Attached Files Attached Files

  9. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    449
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Zeddy,

    On your Sheet 1, how did you get the numbers 1, 2, 3, etc imposed over the original row numbers?

    Thanks in advance for showing me how you did this.

  10. #9
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Newcastle, UK
    Posts
    1,474
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 168 Times in 164 Posts
    Hi

    On a blank sheet, I changed the column width of col [A] to 4.
    Then, on row3 cell [A3], I entered the number 1.
    I then filled down for 100 rows to put my own numbers 1 to 100 (I could have entered more of course).
    I then colour-coded these cells with a light grey, and 'centred' the cells.
    I then made my own 'letter' column headings across row 1, shaded the cells etc.
    I then turned OFF Excels own column headings using Tools>Options>View and unchecking the box for Row and Column headers.

    Like I said, "I cheated by making my own sheet row and column headers and turned Excel's off."
    OK, I was impressed myself. I thought it looked quite good.
    And no need for split windows etc etc.

    zeddy

  11. #10
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    449
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks a lot, zeddy.

    Moon

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •