Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Colorado Springs CO
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    video card issue

    I've a new vid card, nvidia 9800gt and a new digital monitor. monitor is not getting a signal from pc. Am hopped up on percocet from surgery but need to get pc working now. cable & card are seated. What am I missing?

    TIA

  2. #2
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Gives us a more comprehensive listing of your computer's specs.

    Is this your card?

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Colorado Springs CO
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    card looks a bit different, but does say 9800gt. its a warranty replacement for a defective card.

    I've xp sp 3. monitor is viewsonic va-2033.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Ensure that the cord you plug into your card is an exact match for the cards plug.
    Most add-on cards will come with an adapter, this might be needed in your settup.

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by infael View Post
    What am I missing?
    infael,
    Hello... How much power supply are you running?.... "Specs" say you need 400W min...... Also what Nvidia software are you running for that card? Regards Fred
    Last edited by Just Plain Fred; 2012-05-03 at 20:49.
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  6. #6
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Colorado Springs CO
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I cant run software as I cant get into windows. Its the power supply. Sigh. Thats what i had suspected. Many thanks for help.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Yeah, that'll definitely do it.

    What is the make and manufacture (tag number) of your computer, we'll help you with a replacement if you choose.

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    928
    Thanks
    61
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
    Do you have the 6 pin power plug from your power supply plugged in to the rear connector on the Graphic card?

    Specs from site
    Minimum of a 400 Watt power supply.
    (Minimum recommended power supply with +12 Volt current rating of 26 Amp Amps.)
    Minimum 450 Watt for SLI mode system.
    (Minimum recommended power supply with +12 Volt current rating of 28 Amp Amps.)

    An available 6 pin PCI-E power connector (hard drive power dongle to PCI-E 6 pin adapter included with card)
    Last edited by curiousclive; 2012-05-04 at 13:48.
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Colorado Springs CO
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I'm just gonna get a wussy vid card instead. Been looking online and nothing seems to list PS requirements. I'm thinking that a $30 vid card will probably work with a 375watt PS. Is this so?

  10. #10
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by infael View Post
    I'm just gonna get a wussy vid card instead. Been looking online and nothing seems to list PS requirements. I'm thinking that a $30 vid card will probably work with a 375watt PS. Is this so?
    infael,
    The problem with making assumptions....well, they usually comes back to bite you. Changing Power supplies is not a big deal ... Most come with extra connectors and adapters that will plug into your Motherboard... ex: Corsair versions have power connectors that can use 20 or 24 pin and other connectors have the same ability (to adapt ) ..The Only caveat is you have to have room in back of the power supply ...so it wont hit anything... But the manufactures give all dimensions needed to make a choice ..The mountings are universal ... Just do your homework before purchasing anything Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  11. #11
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Should be fine, but check it out anyway.
    I know you don't wanna be two for two.

  12. #12
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Colorado Springs CO
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Issue is video cards don't seem to list PS requiements on box or online.

    I have a new laptop and will haveta get a new pc next year, for Win 7.

    With such a small PS (375W), am thinking might be hard to find a stronger PS that'll fit. This has been ongoing for almost 2 months now. Badly need to get into pc now. That's why I'll accept a cheap vid card in the dimension 410.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Have a look through this.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •