Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Basic question

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    El Monte, CA, USA
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Basic question

    Since I have extremely limited knowledge, I am asking a basic question regarding modem settings. Should the setting for "Let LAN device share Internet address?" be "No, use private IP address" or "Yes, use public IP address." Thanks for your help.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,748
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    Leave at the default No unless you have a particular reason to need Yes.

    Bruce

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    El Monte, CA, USA
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I just did an online chat with AT&T and they said to leave it Yes, public. I reset the modem and the default setting was No, private. I don't know why I keep getting conflicting information from different sources. AT&T said to change "connect on demand" to "smart keep alive" while the first is the default. I will leave it in the default settings. Thanks for your answer.
    Last edited by richardc; 2012-05-06 at 17:33. Reason: Add information

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 985 Times in 915 Posts
    I assume you have a dial up modem - from the Ark?
    The modem doesn't have an IP address, it just makes the connection to your computer. This means your computer is directly connected to the internet - which is bad m'kay. Make sure you have Windows firewall turned up high and your AV is updated daily.

    And select "Yes, use public IP address".

    cheers, Paul

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,748
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    I assume you have a dial up modem - from the Ark?
    The modem doesn't have an IP address, it just makes the connection to your computer. This means your computer is directly connected to the internet - which is bad m'kay. Make sure you have Windows firewall turned up high and your AV is updated daily.

    And select "Yes, use public IP address".

    cheers, Paul
    It's a DSL modem:

    Quote Originally Posted by richardc View Post
    I recently replaced my DSL modem.
    And last time, you assumed he had a router:

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    I assume you have a router on your network. This isolates your network and keeps prying eyes away from your PC.

    cheers, Paul
    Bruce

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 985 Times in 915 Posts
    You've got me stumped Bruce, I can't see where it says DSL modem or where I posted twice?

    cheers, Paul

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,748
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    You've got me stumped Bruce, I can't see where it says DSL modem or where I posted twice?

    cheers, Paul
    Not in this thread, but you can click the quote arrows to see original context. You previously answered the same poster, and he said DSL before.

    Bruce

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 985 Times in 915 Posts
    I'm impressed by your recall of previous threads. Need to up my game now. ;-))

    cheers, Paul

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •